Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases with Info on Cultures & Customs
GREAT source for quick information on cultures and customs of different countries
"People" section--population, language, religion, and more
"Lifestyle" section--family, housing, diet, arts, and much more
"Society" section--transportation & communications, education, and health
(Note: always have to select "Accept" on first screen)
Unique consumer data provided covering many aspects of consumer lifestyles, particularly requirements under "Living Conditions"
Dashboards-->Country Overviews under Vis Apps provides quick, useful info on Business Environment, Key Economic Indicators, and Social & Cultural Factors
"Consumer Segmentation" is useful for population distribution
Search: Don't overlook this useful function because it allows you to select many components
Select a country in the COUNTRY PROFILE box on the right side of the home screen
--Results in a PDF Country Profile report
Mintel Reports Database
Basic country custom and culture information in the Travel & Tourism Country Reports by country
Country Studies by Library of Congress
The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.
Encyclopedia of the Nations
Includes information on population, history, ethnic groups, culture, language, transportation, government structure, technology, and contain notes about museums, media, libraries, technology, and much more.
International Average Salary Income Database
Provides an international comparison of average salary for various professions and an international comparison of average personal income & expenditure.
The World Factbook (CIA)
Great for cultural statistics but does not provide much analysis
Countries and Their Cultures
Information includes demography, linguistics, food, social stratification, and much more.
Reference Resources for Cultural Information
These sources contain reference books that can be accessed online (examples in boxes below).
SAGE Reference Online
Several useful reference sources on regional perspectives, family roles in different cultures, business considerations by culture, and more
*See examples below
Encyclopedias on modern-day cultures in Asia, Middle East, Africa, as well as information on food and arts by culture (see examples below)
*Useful categories to select in Gale: History, General, Business
Gale Virtual Reference Library Examples
Sage Reference Online examples
Doing Business in Different Countries
World Bank Doing Business in
Very detailed guide to conducting business in economies around the globe.
*Includes cost to export and import, tax considerations, etc.
Federation of International Trade Associations (FITA)
Website covers multiple aspects of doing business with other countries, including legal structure, finance, trade statistics, barriers, and much more. The Selling & Buying link contains information on distribution channels and infrastructure, as well as information on the different media channels.
Deloitte Global Business Guides
These detailed guides focus on tax system, operating conditions and investment climate in each country. Additional coverage includes the business and regulatory environment, foreign investment, and employment.
Lex Mundi: Guides to Doing Business
Guides to doing business by country providing general information about each jurisdiction's legal and business infrastructures. - after clicking on the country, select down download this document
Global Competitiveness Report
Detailed information on countries and rankings of business conditions within each country.
UHY Doing Business Guides
Guides to doing business in countries around the world give detailed advice on practical aspects of operating in each country.
Business Portal of India
Detailed and practical information on starting and conducting business in India produced by the Indian government.
Asian Development Bank
Sections to explore:
*Data & Research
*Sectors & Themes
Global Business Knowledge from globalEDGE
Select a country and the "Resources" in the left column for links to that country's government resources--great for statistics, labor regulations, costs, etc.
Free statistics on global employment, unemployment, wages, consumer prices, and occupational injuries. You can search by topic or by country.
Also from ILO are labor surveys with employment data from 200 countries around the world at www.ilo.org/dyn/lfsurvey/lfsurvey.home.
Offers free access to 60 million statistical records from 24 UN agencies. One can search by keyword or browse by topic or country.
Statistical Abstract of the United States/International Data, 2012 edition
Section of U.S. Statistical Abstract containing comparative statistics for demographic, business, health, and other key official statistics for a selected countries.
Country Commercial Guides
*Country Commercial Guides--contain "Doing Business Guides " by Country (Note: sections on "Selling U.S. Products and Services" and "Trade and Project Financing" with country specifics)
To find Country Commerce reports on Human Resources:
- Click on Sources, start typing Economist Intelligence Unit, and select the title from the list
- In the search box type "country commerce [your country]" and "human resources"
*There are many other topics covered in Country Commerce reports - you can leave out "human resources" to see what other topics are included
*Every country may not be included
Reference Books at USC
Below are several examples of books with country business and customs information. Search the Library Catalog for others.