Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PhD Candidates--Guide to Business Library Resources: Databases

A guide to databases and library services for PhD candidates at USC's Moore School of Business

Specialized Resources for PhD Candidates

WRDS--Wharton Research Data Services

WRDS is only available to USC Faculty, Staff, and PhD Candidates. Registration is required and must be approved by Dr. Eric Powers.

Steps for Applying for an Account:

Step 1: Point your web browser to http://wrds.wharton.upenn.edu

Step 2: In the login box, select the "Register" tab.

Step 3: Fill out the account request form and click the "Submit" box.

You will receive an email when your registration is confirmed.

USC has access to the following databases through WRDS:

DATABASE

DESCRIPTION

Bank Regulatory

Contains five databases for regulated depository financial institutions. These databases provide accounting data for bank holding companies, commercial banks, savings banks, and savings and loans institutions. The source of the data comes from the required regulatory forms filed for supervising purposes.

Blockholders

Contains standardized data for blockholders of 1,913 companies. The data was cleaned from biases and mistakes usually observed in the standard source for this particular type of data. Blockholders' data is reported by firm for the period 1996-2001.

CBOE Indexes

Chicago Board Options Exchange Volatility Index® (VIX®) is a key measure of market expectations of near-term volatility conveyed by S&P 500 stock index option prices. Based on S&P 500 index option prices and incorporates information from the volatility "skew" by using a wider range of strike prices rather than just at-the-money series.

COMPUSTAT

Database of U.S. and Canadian fundamental and market information on active and inactive publicly held companies. It provides more than 300 annual and 100 quarterly Income Statement, Balance Sheet, Statement of Cash Flows, and supplemental data items.

CRSP

Center for Research in Security Prices database contains end-of-day and month-end prices on all listed NYSE, Amex, and NASDAQ common stocks along with basic market indices, and includes the most comprehensive distribution information available, with the most accurate total return calculations.

CUSIP

Provides CUSIP numbers, standardized descriptions and additional data attributes for over 5 million corporate, municipal and government securities offered in North America.

DMEF Academic Data

Four individual data sets, each containing customer buying history for about 100,000 customers of nationally known catalog and non-profit database marketing businesses are available through DMEF to approved academic researchers for use within academic situations.

Dow Jones

Consists of Dow Jones Averages & Total Return Indexes

Eventus

Performs event studies using data read directly from CRSP stock databases or pre-extracted from any source. The Eventus system includes utility programs to convert calendar dates to CRSP trading day numbers, convert CUSIP identifiers to CRSP permanent identification numbers, and extract event study cumulative or compounded abnormal returns for cross-sectional analysis.

FDIC

Contains historical financial data for all entities filing the Report of Condition and Income (Call Report) and some savings institutions filing the OTS Thrift Financial Report (TFR). Files include details on structure and merger history, financial time series and ratios, plus complex derived integers data.

Fama French & Liquidity Factors

Returns from the Fama-French Portfolios, constructed from the intersections of two portfolios formed on size, as measured by market equity (ME), and three portfolios using the ratio of book equity to market equity (BE/ME) as a proxy for value.

Federal Reserve Bank

Reports in WRDS contain three databases collected from Federal Reserve Banks: Foreign Exchange Rates (Federal Reserve Board’s H.10 Report), Interest Rates (Federal Reserve Board’s H.15 Report), and FRB-Philadelphia State Indexes.

GMI Ratings   

GMI Ratings offers access to annual corporate governance datasets from 2001 through 2012. The datasets provide proxy data captured through June 30th of each year on over 3,000 US companies and contain approximately 225 unique data points, including: Corporate Board Structure and Independence, Executive and Director Compensation, Audit Fees, Takeover Defenses, Corporate Ownership, and Director Positions.

IBES

Provides both summary and individual analyst forecasts of company earnings, cash flows, and other important financial items, as well as buy-sell-hold recommendations.

ISSM

The Institute for the Study of Security Markets (ISSM) database contains tick-by-tick data covering the NYSE and AMEX between 1983 and 1992, and NASDAQ between 1987 and 1992. Each year of data is divided into two files, one for trades and one for quotes.

Option Metrics

Comprehensive source of historical price and implied volatility data for the US equity and index options markets. Ivy DB OptionMetrics contains historical prices of options and their associated underlying instruments, correctly calculated implied volatilities, and option sensitivities.

Philadelphia Stock Exchange (PHLX)

Contains Philadelphia Automated Communication and Execution (PACE) system and the following Index Options: Semiconductor Sector (SOX), Oil Service Sector (OSX) Gold/Silver Sector (XAU), KBW Bank Sector (BKX) and Utility Sector (UTY)

Penn World Tables

Provides national income accounts-type of variables converted to international prices.

SEC Order Execution

Data is available on WRDS through 2005, and is no longer updated.

TRACE

Trade Reporting and Compliance Engine is FINRA's over-the-counter (OTC) corporate bond market real-time price dissemination service.

Thomson Reuters

Contains the following: Thomson-Reuters Mutual Fund Holdings Database, Thomson-Reuters Institutional Holdings (13F) Database, Insider Filing Data Feed (IFDF), WRDS-Reuters DealScan

Databases at USC

Best places to access USC Databases:

Top Business Databases