Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Economics, Politics & Risks in Foreign Countries
Hover over COUNTRIES & CONSUMERS, and then select:
Government, Labour & Education
Economy, Finance & Trade
Industry, Infrastructure & Environment
In the next screen, select your geographical region/country under "Analysis Finder"
Fitch Connect (previously Business Monitor)
*Country & Political Risk--includes strategies, macroeconomic indicators, and Risk/Reward Ratings
*Country Forecast Reports contain key information about business environment, macroeconomics, global & regional strategy
Business Source Complete
Select Country Report by "Publication Type" on the home search screen and type country of interest in search box.
*Examples of helpful country reports included here are Political Risk Yearbook and Country Reviews from CountryWatch. Also an excellent source for magazine and journal articles about countries.
Social Security Country Profiles
The Country Profiles serve as an overview of social security programs in the Americas, Africa, Asia and the Pacific, and Europe. Scheme descriptions are provided for over 170 countries and territories, and profiles of complementary and private pensions in 50 countries. Cover national social security programs established by statute that insure individuals against interruption or loss of earnings resulting from old age, disability; sickness and maternity; work injury or occupational disease; unemployment; and child rearing.
A vast compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD. You can generate maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics for different countries.
Encyclopedia of the Nations
Contains country information such as population, history, ethnic groups, culture, language, transportation, government structure, technology, and contain notes about museums, media, libraries, technology, and much more.
Free access to statistical data provided by European Commission. Search by keyword or browse by topic, or browse through the databases, such as "Demand for Services" by country.
Doing Business In
World Economic Forum Reports
Detailed information on countries and rankings of business conditions within each country.
*Filter by region, type, issue, or year on the right
*Scroll to the bottom for links to Global Competitiveness Reports, Global Risks Reports, and Global Gender Gap reports
Global Competitiveness Reports
Insight into the drivers of productivity and prosperity in over 145 economies
Business Source Complete
Suggestions for searching:
--Type your selected country in the search box and select "Country Report" by Publication Type
--Barnes Reports are also useful and can be found in BSC
Lex Mundi: Guides to Doing Business
Guides to doing business by country providing general information about each jurisdiction's legal and business infrastructures. - after clicking on the country, select down download this document
UHY Doing Business Guides
Guides to doing business in countries around the world give detailed advice on practical aspects of operating in each country.
World Bank Doing Business In
Very detailed guide to conducting business in economies around the globe.
*Includes cost to export and import, tax considerations, required documentation, etc.
Country Commercial Guides
*Country Commercial Guides--contains the latest "Doing Business Guides" by Country
Deloitte Global Business Guides
These detailed guides focus on tax system, operating conditions and investment climate in each country. Additional coverage includes the business and regulatory environment, foreign investment, and employment.