Library Guides: MGMT 479 (Sandberg): Consumer Demographics

Free Web Resources for Consumer Demographics

Statistical Abstract of the United States
This section presents statistics on the growth, distribution, and characteristics of the U.S. population

U.S. Census Bureau This link opens in a new window
Access to government census data

ESRI Data
Includes some basic demographics along with Tapestry Segments which describe the most popular pastimes, buying preferences and other lifestyle choices of the residents of a specified zip code.
*Some info is free but some requires subscription.
SCDash
South Carolina statistical data within a variety of categories, geographical areas and from a multitude of sources.
*Provided by USC's Darla Moore School of Business
South Carolina Statistical Abstract
Online publication containing economic, demographic, and social data for SC produced by a variety of state and federal agencies
City Data.com
Detailed statistics on population, cost of living, crime, education, housing and more. Search by city, county or zipcode.
Mapping America: Every City, Every Block
Displays distribution of people by demographic and socioeconomic status
-Combines census data with geographic and mapping tools.
Find the distribution of citizens by race, income, ethnicity, and housing status for larger areas.
more...less...
The data is from the U.S. Bureau of the Census American Community Survey 2005–2009. The program was created by The New York Times.
GeoFRED
Regional data series includes:
-Residential population
-Unemployment rate
-Earnings by Place of Work and much more
Various tools allow users to customize and print thematic maps of U.S. economic data for geographies including states, counties, and metropolitan statistical areas
*GeoFRED Help
IMF Data Mapper
Interactive tool for various time periods by country, regions, or analytical groups
TIP: Population and unemployment are under World Economic Outlook dataset

Print Resources at USC

The Lifestyle Market Analyst
-Provides market analysis of potential local, regional and national audiences
*Sample Pages

Library Databases for Consumer Demographics

Statista This link opens in a new window
Wide range of statistics including consumer behavior, markets, industries, countries and trend forecasts.
Passport This link opens in a new window
Note: Must always click on 'Accept' first
-Consumer spending statistics by country for specific product categories.
Tip: Under COUNTRIES & CONSUMERS, look under 'Consumer Trends & Lifestyles' and 'Income & Expenditure'
World Bank Open Data This link opens in a new window
Detailed global statistical data.
TIP: The Social Indicators section is the most relevant. It includes population, labor and poverty and income data.
This new site currently contains the full World Development Indicators (WDI), Global Development Finance (GDF), and Africa Development Indicators (ADI) as well as several other World Bank databases such as Global Economic Monitor (GEM), Education Statistics, etc.
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Find company and industry reports as well as demographic and consumer lifestyle data.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Statistics for the 34 OECD member countries
--Select Statistics on home screen, then OECD.Stat and Data
--Find data by theme or select the "Popular queries" tab to quickly find common statistics ("Country statistical profiles" is very valuable)
--The Key Tables can be very useful also (on the home Statistics screen)
This database can be difficult to use at first, so feel free to contact a business librarian if you need help
SRDS Media Solutions This link opens in a new window
Provides information for different advertising media (ad rates, circulation, market analysis, and more). The Claritas 360 module provides data on lifestyles, interests, and hobbies within specific geographic and demographic markets as well as PRIZM segmentation reports.