Online Resources
- Introduction to FranchisingAn educational presentation by Frannet, sponsored by the Small Business Administration, gives a helpful overview of franchising in both a presentation and transcript format.
- Franchising.comFranchising.com is the a comprehensive source of franchise information on the web. It provides resources for franchise buyers, multi-unit franchisees and franchisors.
- A Consumer Guide to Buying a FranchiseThis document by the Federal Trade Commission advises consumers on the benefits of franchises, how to select a franchise, investing considerations, etc.
- Entrepreneur--FranchisesEntrepreneur Magazine provides online information on various aspects of franchising--rankings, international franchise considerations, news, etc.
- Franchising World ArchiveThe magazine published by the IFA focuses on issues facing the franchise sector and includes highlights from IFA conventions.
- Franchise Rule OpinionsFederal Trade Commission staff opinions interpreting the original Franchise Rule remain useful as a source of interpretation for the amended Rule, except where the Statement of Basis and Purpose for the amended Rule contradicts a staff opinion.
Book Resources at USC
Franchising and Licensing by Call Number: HF 5429.235 .U5 S54 2011ISBN: 9780814415566Publication Date: 2011-04-13- Franchise Rule 16 C.F.R. Part 436 Compliance Guide byCall Number: FT 1.8/2:F 84/5 [Electronic Resource]Publication Date: 2008
Franchise Bible by Call Number: HF 5429.235 .U5 K478 2007ISBN: 9781599180984Publication Date: 2007-07-06
Service Franchising by Call Number: HF 5429.23 .A565 2006 [Electronic and print resource]ISBN: 0387281827Publication Date: 2005-12-12Can access the electronic version from Aiken through the Springer link provided in the catalog record above. The print version can also be ordered from the Annex.- Video franchising : hearing before the Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation, United States Senate, One Hundred Ninth Congress, second session, February 15, 2006. byCall Number: Y 4.C 73/7:S.HRG.109-603 [Electronic Resource]Publication Date: 2006
The Franchise Handbook by Call Number: HF 5429.23 .F6788 2006ISBN: 9780910627542Publication Date: 2006-01-12
The Economics of Franchising by Call Number: HF5429.23 .B53 2005ISBN: 0521772524Publication Date: 2005-04-11
Ultimate Book of Low-Cost Franchises 2005 by Call Number: HF 5429.23 .L474 2005ISBN: 1932531394Publication Date: 2005-04-15
Buying & Selling
- FranchiseGatorOffers a listing of franchise businesses for sale, together with some interviews with CEOs.
- Franchise Disclosure LawsCertain state laws give franchise purchasers important legal rights, including the right to bring private lawsuits for violation of the state disclosure requirements.
- Franchise DirectoryFranchise Advantage provides a list of franchises for sale categorized by industry.
- Franchise Opportunities - Directory of Franchises for Sale and Business OpportunitiesPortal for franchise and business opportunities. Its website network consists of eight multilingual sites targeting North America and Europe.
Franchise Associations
- International Franchise AssociationInternational Franchise Association is the world’s oldest and largest organization representing franchising worldwide. IFA’s mission is to protect, enhance and promote franchising through government relations, public relations and educational programs. IFA's website contains information international franchises, franchising opportunities, professional development, etc.
- American Franchisee AssociationA national trade association of franchisees and dealers founded in February 1993, the AFA works to improve the industry of franchising while protecting its members’ economic investments in their businesses.
- American Association of Franchises and Dealers (AAFD)A national non-profit trade association representing the rights and interests of franchisees and independent dealers throughout the US.
Franchise-Chat
Founded by Dr Callum Floyd in 1999 whilst completing a Ph.D researching franchising, Franchise-chat brings franchise news stories and resource articles from around the world to one convenient location.
Loading ...