Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Arguably the best free online resource for global business information developed and hosted by Michigan State University.
TIP: Select a country and the "Resources" in the left column for links to that country's government resources--great for statistics, labor regulations, costs, etc.
A vast compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD. You can generate maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics for different countries.
CIA World Factbook
Up-to-date facts and stats on countries around the world.
Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions.
*Includes audio and video clips from BBC archives
Select a country, territory or international organization
Economic Freedom of the World
Annual reports available that uses 42 distinct pieces of data to measure economic freedom in 141 nations.
Social Security Country Profiles
The Country Profiles serve as an overview of social security programs in the Americas, Africa, Asia and the Pacific, and Europe. Scheme descriptions are provided for over 170 countries and territories, and profiles of complementary and private pensions in 50 countries. Cover national social security programs established by statute that insure individuals against interruption or loss of earnings resulting from old age, disability; sickness and maternity; work injury or occupational disease; unemployment; and child rearing.
World Bank Country Data
Research publications, news and data by country
Passport This link opens in a new window
(Note: Always have to click 'Accept')
*Country Profiles provide excellent country specific overviews.
*Country Pulse provide news items about consumer trends within the country.
*Country Briefing gives Business Environment for a country based on World Bank Doing Business Report.
Fitch Connect This link opens in a new window
*Country Risk--includes strategies, macroeconomic indicators, and Risk/Reward Ratings
*Country Forecast Reports
*Compare & Export tool--use for country comparisons, including import/export data
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Select Country Report by "Publication Type" on the home search screen and type country of interest in search box.
*Examples of helpful country reports included here are Political Risk Yearbook and Country Reviews from CountryWatch. Also an excellent source for magazine and journal articles about countries.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Contains IBC's International Country Risk Guides with in-depth analyses of factors that could affect business, trade or investments in countries around the world.
FIND: Select "Search By Content Type" at top of screen, then "Country Information" under the PEOPLE, PLACES AND THINGS directory, and then select the country and sources to search.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Best known for its publications and its statistics, the OECD’s work covers economic and social issues from macroeconomics, to trade, education, development, science and innovation.
IMF Data This link opens in a new window
Statistical database from the International Monetary Fund that includes finance, balance of payments, trade, foreign investment, and more.