Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases for company research
*Private Company Information
-Excellent Corporate History
-Funding and restructuring information, if applicable Business and financial data on more than 57,000 major, non-publicly traded corporations, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies
Covers all public companies in the US and overseas. Gives detailed facts about the company and extensive financial data. Also includes complete annual reports for the most recent 10 years and SEC filings including 10-K reports through EDGAR.
Select COMPANIES/MARKETS at top, then COMPANY
-Search by company name or ticker for company snapshot
-Find more detailed information by using the menu on left
Business Source Complete
*Select the "Company Information" at the top of the search screen
-Company profiles cover both public and private companies located in the United States and around the world
-Provide in-depth information including a company overview, business description, key employees, and top competitors
TIP:To search for specific company, try using the search box in upper right hand corner
-Contains company profiles for both parent companies and their individual subsidiaries in countries around the world.
-Covers Company Background, Strategic Direction, Competitive Positioning, Production and Retail Value Shares of specific markets.
*Select Get Company Info at bottom right, then open Company Dossier to search for company information
-Provides detailed financials and the latest news about companies from magazines and newspapers worldwide
-Provides executive and director information, as well as Deals updates
-Also gives basic directory type (brief information) on thousands of small private companies.
Comprehensive coverage of the overseas holdings of American firms.
-Covers public companies, some private and non-profit organizations
-Great company background information and listings of competitors
Databases for Industry Research
Great US and China coverage
*Industry Market Research--US and China industry reports with strategic insight and competitive landscape
*Global Industry Research--industry performance (market characteristics, operating conditions) in key regions like Europe, the Middle East, Africa and more Niche and Emerging Industry reports cover such industries as Tattoo Removal, Karaoke Bars, Online Daily Deal Sites, Golf Course Design, and Garbage Truck Manufacturing just to name a few.
Covers the US, Europe, Latin America and Asia Pacific, including both service and manufacturing industries.
*Contains industry profiles, current environment, market trends, leading companies and industry outlook.
Fitch Connect (previously Business Monitor)
Select your country and industry
*Industry forecasts reports will be linked on the right and contain details on the business environment
*Includes Industry SWOT Analysis
Business Source Complete
Narrow your search by selecting "Industry Profile" under Publication Type in Advanced Search
*Contains Barnes Reports, Marketline/Datamonitor Reports, Business Monitor Reports, among others
(Note: you can also use these publications in your keyword searches)
Select COMPANIES/MARKETS at top, then INDUSTRY
*Industry Snapshots contain targeted news, reports, charts, analysis and financial data.
Find company and industry reports as well as demographic and consumer lifestyle data.
*Trends and Opportunities
*Related Associations and much more
Free Online Resources for Industry Research
Industry statistics compiled by the US Census Bureau
*Includes number of establishments/companies, number of employees, payroll, and a measure of output (sales, receipts, etc.)
Includes Graphics, Industry Facts and Ratios for 2 and 3 digit NAICS. 2012 Economic Census data included.