Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Comics Studies @ USC
Comics Studies Scholarly Journals
Databases with Comics Studies Coverage
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Coverage of noted scholarly sources and specialized magazines in the humanities and performing arts. Find feature articles and reviews.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Search a collection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals and ebooks. Only the content to which UofSC Columbia subscribes is available full text.
MLA (Modern Language Association) International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Search for international scholarly materials, including journal articles, books/chapters, and dissertations, on literature, modern language, linguistics, and folklore.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access full text of journal articles (not including the most recent 2-6 years) as well as books and book chapters in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers all subject areas. Has a mix of magazines and journals including many that are peer-reviewed. Also includes a few major newspapers.
Comics in the LIbrary Catalog
Generally, collections of comics, graphic novels, and volumes on comics studies can be found on Level 3 of the Thomas Cooper Library, using the PN6700s call number range (ex. The Complete Peanuts, Fun Home, and Comics of the U.S. South). However, you can also search by title, author, keyword, or subject using the search box below, which will also point you to e-books that are included in our collection.