Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Ike Williams: Home

Librarian

South Carolina Political Collections's picture
South Carolina Political Collections
Contact:
Ernest F. Hollings Special Collections Library
University of South Carolina
1322 Greene St.
Columbia, SC 29208
(803) 777-0582
Website

About Ike

“The consummate activist,” according to Congressman Jim Clyburn, Isaac W. “Ike” Williams (1945-2008) dedicated his life to community service and the advancement of civil rights. Most notably, he served as Field Director of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) in South Carolina from 1969 to 1983. Numerous awards from the NAACP and other civic organizations recognized this lifetime of service.

The exhibit

Highlights from the collection were on exhibit in Hollings Library for "The Consummate Activist:" Ike Williams, January-May 2018.

Collection Connections

South Carolina's political history includes many players. You'll find records relating to specific individuals in multiple collections.


The Reverand Isaiah DeQuincey Newman was Williams' mentor and an inspiration for his civil rights activism. The Newman papers have been digitized and contain records relating to Williams, including:

Letters to and from Williams are available in civil rights activist Modjeska Simkins' digitized collection:

From the Archives