Library Guides: MGMT 406 (Chaves): International Human Resource Management: Culture and Customs

Reference Resources for Cultural Information

These sources contain reference books that can be accessed online (examples in boxes below).

Sage Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Several useful reference sources on regional perspectives, family roles in different cultures, business considerations by culture, and more
*See examples below
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias on modern-day cultures in Asia, Middle East, Africa, as well as information on food and arts by culture (see examples below)
*Useful categories to select in Gale: History, General, Business

Encyclopedia of Modern Asia
Info on daily life, arts & culture, etc.
Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa
Each country in the region is reviewed, detailing its population, economy and government.
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture

The databases below provide detailed information on customs and cultures of other countries.

Global Guides to Culture, Customs and Etiquette
-Covers both social and business etiquette practices

CultureGrams This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
GREAT source for quick information on cultures and customs of different countries
"People" section--population, language, religion, and more
"Lifestyle" section--family, housing, diet, arts, and much more
"Society" section--transportation & communications, education, and health
Fitch Connect This link opens in a new window
Political and legal systems found in country's Business Environment reports

Countries and Their Cultures
Information includes demography, linguistics, food, social stratification, and much more.
The World Factbook (CIA)
Great for cultural statistics but does not provide much analysis
BBC Country Profiles
Search by country or territory
*Instant guide to history and political leaders
*Specialized Media tab covers the use and sources of media available

Statista This link opens in a new window
Wide range of statistics including consumer behavior, markets, industries, countries and trend forecasts.
Passport This link opens in a new window
(Note: always have to select "Accept" on first screen)
Unique consumer data provided covering many aspects of consumer lifestyles, particularly requirements under "Living Conditions"
Tips:
Dashboards-->Country Overviews under Vis Apps provides quick, useful info on Business Environment, Key Economic Indicators, and Social & Cultural Factors
"Consumer Segmentation" is useful for population distribution
Search Don't overlook this useful function because it allows you to select many components needed for your notebook
Mintel Reports Database This link opens in a new window
Basic country custom and culture information in the Travel & Tourism Country Reports by country.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Select a country in the COUNTRY PROFILE box on the right side of the home screen
--Results in a PDF Country Profile report
Contains info on Political and Legal systems, as well as religion

globalEDGE
Arguably the best free online resource for global business information developed and hosted by Michigan State University.
TIP: Select a country and the "Resources" in the left column for links to that country's government resources--great for statistics, labor regulations, costs, etc.