Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Is your inquiry project a teacher or classroom research project? The education databases may be your best bet. Are you looking at issues, concepts or theorists related to reader-response theories? You may want to delve more deeply into the literature databases. We get most of these databases from the same company, so you could choose the ones you want to search and search all together.
Education Source and ERIC This link opens in a new window
Combined direct access to both of the major education databases.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Full text articles for many of the periodicals that are indexed in all areas of education.
ERIC (EBSCO interface) This link opens in a new window
Articles and documents. Thesaurus for finding search terms and easy way to limit by educational level.
MLA (Modern Language Association) International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Search for international scholarly materials, including journal articles, books/chapters, and dissertations, on literature, modern language, linguistics, and folklore.
Library Literature & Information Science Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full text and indexing of articles and book reviews in key library and information science periodicals as well as book chapters, library school theses, and proceedings.
Library and Information Science Abstracts (LISA) This link opens in a new window
Abstracting and indexing tool designed for library professionals and other information specialists.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers all subject areas. Has a mix of magazines and journals including many that are peer-reviewed. Also includes a few major newspapers.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, book reviews and other secondary sources written by professional historians. Covers the history of the United States and Canada.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Connect directly to USC subscription content:
*Click on the three horizontal bars in the corner, Select Settings and click on Library links
*Search and select USC University Libraries - ViewIt@USC
Never purchase an article! Check the library's resources or make a free ILL request.
Searching with a name either as an author or a subject. Enter it like a phonebook last name, first name
The Advanced search in the classic catalog can do more complex searches than Quick Search.
Literary Theory Overviews
Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window
Along with examining writers, works and characters, you'll also find information from reference books on literary theories.
PASCAL Delivers catalog
Start here if you want to have books delivered to a participating institution. Even if they are books from Thomas Cooper Library.