Skip to main content
Search this Guide
ENGL 101: Find Articles
Databases for Historical or Cultural Contexts
America: History and Life
Includes content from more than 2000 journals, covering all aspects of history of the United States and Canada. Allows you to limit your search by time period covered.
This database is used to locate articles on the history of the world, excluding the United States and Canada.
The premier database for psychology and related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, education, social work, law, criminology, social science, and organizational behavior.
Women's Studies International
Women's Studies International covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research.
Academic Search Complete
Covers all subject areas. Has a mix of magazines and journals including many that are peer-reviewed. Also includes a few major newspapers.
JSTOR offers full-text on-line access to back issues to scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Issues are entered on-line after having been published for 2-5 years.
New York Times Historical (1851-2016)
Keyword searching and full-text access to this major national newspaper.
More historical newspapers available through the library
Provides full-text access to a selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals and ebooks.
Recommended Databases for Literary Criticism & Biography
Search for articles on your topic or author in one of the following online databases.
You may want to use the "Advanced Search" and select relevant disciplines/ journal collections.
Bloom's Literary Reference Online
Examines great writers, important works, memorable characters, and influential movements and events in world literature.
Literature Resource Center
Offers biographical information from many trusted resources, including the Dictionary of Literary Biography; plus some criticism. Be aware of the tabs!
Dictionary of Literary Biography
Provides biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.
Provides full-text access to a selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals.
Biography (Gale in Context)
Full-text biographical information on more than one million people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.
MLA - Modern Language Association International Bibliography
The first stop for criticism on literature. Coverage begins in 1929.
I'm YOUR Librarian
Research & Instruction
Thomas Cooper Library
Make an Appointment
Film & Media Studies
Literatures & Languages
Find Books >>
Jul 23, 2020 3:04 PM
Login to LibApps
Literatures & Languages
UofSC Course Guides