Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

To the Moon and Back: The Legacy of Apollo at 50: Home

Event Information

To the Moon and Back: The Legacy of Apollo at 50

Monday, July 8th   6:00 PM

Hollings Library Program Room (Enter through the Thomas Cooper Library)
This event is free and open to the public, all are welcome.

Link to flyer

Come early (available starting at 5:45)
to view archival lunar maps and materials

Stay late to view a close-up of the
moon from the Melton Observatory
and the Midlands Astronomy Club
(weather permitting)

Canceled due to inclement weather

Speaker Biography

John Adams Hodge is a NASA volunteer in the Solar System Ambassador Program and is a frequent speaker on planetary science and astronomy topics.  He is a partner in the Bethune Observers Group, which is a private astronomical observatory complex. He was a witness to the Apollo 17 launch of the last manned moon flight and has had a lifelong interest in space exploration. 

Mr. Hodge has degrees in Geology, Marine Science, Planetary Geology, and Law and graduated from Duke, USC, and the University of London. He is a Registered Professional Geologist and practices exclusively environmental and aviation law. He is listed in The Best Lawyers in America® in Environmental Law, and he formerly taught a graduate level course in environmental regulations at USC for 18 years. He is a recipient of the Order of the Palmetto for his role in recovering the Lake Murray B-25 bomber in 2005 that was featured on the History Channel. Mr. Hodge is a Fellow in the Explorers Club and the Royal Geographical Society. He is also a pilot with over 22,000 hours of flight time in over 70 different kinds of aircraft.

Parking Directions

Bull Street Garage (Gate 3) offers parking for $1 per hour.

Directions: From Blossom St., turn North onto Bull Street. Take the first left onto Devine Street. The visitors’ entrance to the Bull Street Garage will be on the left.

parking

Talk Abstract

NASA Solar System Ambassador John Adams Hodge will speak on the legacy of the Apollo missions to the Moon. The 50th anniversary of the first Moon landing will occur on July 20, 2019.  This presentation will remember and recollect the adventure of the first missions that landed twelve Americans on the Moon from 1969 until 1972. In addition, Mr. Hodge will review some of the important scientific discoveries that resulted from the Apollo missions, and he will provide an update of more recent findings from post-Apollo unmanned missions. Finally, the presentation will consider what is next for lunar exploration.  This presentation is suitable for all ages and levels of expertise.

Irvin Department of Rare Books and Special Collections

The Irvin Department of Rare Books and Special Collections is committed to preserving the materials in its collections and making them accessible to students, scholars and the wider community.

Our holdings include approximately 275,000 items and over 50 archival collections, ranging from early medieval manuscripts and incunabula to historical scientific works and modern literature. You can explore our holdings by searching the library catalog or by using one of our finding aids. You can also browse a selected list of the department’s named collections, all accessible through the catalog and finding aids, but also made available through this keyword searchable list.

Melton Observatory

                                      Observatory  

 

 

Located on the Horseshoe of the USC Columbia Campus, the Melton Memorial Observatory contains a 16-inch Cassegrain telescope that provides a stunning view of the night sky for research purposes, students, and the general public. 

The observatory is open to students and the public, for free, on Mondays between 9:00 p.m. and 11:00 p.m (weather permitting). All age groups are welcome, but we ask that young children are kept under close supervision. Our equipment is sensitive and can be damaged easily.