This is the "Home" page of the "Using Databases and E-Journals" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Using Databases and E-Journals  

Helpful instructions and tips for accessing and utilizing the library's electronic resources.
Last Updated: Nov 20, 2015 URL: Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page

New Electronic Resources

Below you will find a partial list of some of our recently acquired electronic resources. For a full list, please visit our Electronic Resources blog.

  • Factiva
    Access to global news and business information, including local newspapers, same-day newswires, company reports, and media programs. Not all content is available.
  • Black Women Writers
    With over 100,000 pages of fiction, poetry, and essays, Black Women Writers brings together the many voices of African, African American, and African Diaspora women.
  • World History in Video
    Video content is pulled from commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries. Historical eras range from prehistory through the late 20th century. You may also be interested in the University Libraries own Moving Image Research Collections.
  • Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
    Freely search selected American newspapers, including South Carolina papers, from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. newspaper directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
  • Early American Imprints Series I and II: 1639-1819 [Evans]
    Full text of over 70,000 books, pamphlets, and broadsides covering all aspects of American life from colonial times to the early 19th century.
  • Essay and General Literature Index Retrospective, 1900-1984
    Index to essays published in books focusing primarily on the humanities and social sciences.

Electronic Resources

The University of South Carolina Libraries provides access to a wide array of subscription-based electronic resources. The types of information and resources available include (but are not limited to):

  • Full-text Articles
  • Electronic Journals
  • Electronic Books
  • Article Abstracts & Citations
  • Audio Files
  • Biographies
  • Book Reviews
  • Company Profiles
  • Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
  • Dissertations & Theses
  • Magazines
  • Newspapers
  • Reference Resources
  • Statistics



    Questions? Please contact us via Ask-A-Librarian or email us at


    Loading  Loading...