Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Accessing & Discovering Online Resources

What is a Library Database?
A database is any collection of information that is both organized and searchable.

The phrase "library database" is usually used for a database of academic journal articles or a mixture of academic and other types of content, though they can include anything from streaming video and historical newspapers to drug facts and business cases.

What really makes them "library databases" is that they are subscription resources paid for by the University Libraries and require your university login because they are not freely available to the public.

Select the Databases link at the bottom of the main search box for a complete A-Z list of UofSC Columbia subscription databases.

Finding and Selecting Databases
With hundreds of databases, selecting the right one is not always easy. Use the options below or ask a librarian to get started. 

  • If you know the name of the database you need (e.g., Nexis Uni or PubMed), use the alphabet or the Search by Name option. Note: The name search is picky! What you type must match exactly, so try the alphabetical list if the search doesn't work.
  • Or use the dropdown boxes across the top of the page to filter the list by Subject (e.g., Business or Public Health), Content type (e.g., Ebooks or Historical newspapers), and Vendor/Provider (e.g., EBSCO or ProQuest).

The right-hand column on the Databases page also provides quick links to Popular databases and New/Trial resources.