Business Plans - EXSC 454 (Partin) - - Library Guides at University of South Carolina

Library Databases

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text articles and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals, dating back as far as 1886.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Provides global business and financial information. The database includes current and archival U.S. Company data, international data, full text annual reports, SEC filings and historical stock prices. Also includes executive biographies, competitive landscape data, global industry profiles, and equity research reports.
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Find company and industry reports as well as demographic and consumer lifestyle data.
Mintel Reports Database This link opens in a new window
Market research reports covering US and International marketplaces including food and drink, retail and apparel, technology, travel, and more. Also includes demographics and lifestyles.

BP Business Plans
Bplans is owned and operated by Palo Alto Software, Inc. as a free resource to help entrepreneurs build better businesses. In addition to ideas, guidance, and tools for entrepreneurs, Bplans offers a gallery of more than 500 sample business plans. [Note: The website also promotes Business Plan Pro software.]
BP Step by Step Business Plans
Reference for Business Plans
The Business Plans section is composed of actual business plans written by entrepreneurs in North America who are seeking financing for their business.
Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh Business Plans
This index lists types of small businesses and a corresponding sample business plan, profile or book about the business with sources provided after each entry.
SCORE plan + grow
SCORE is a nonprofit association dedicated to helping small businesses get off the ground, grow and achieve their goals through education and mentorship. Business plan templates are provided for a start-up business, established business, nonprofit, and others.
Moot Corp Competition Business Plans
The now-defunct Global Venture Labs Investment Competition (formerly the Moot Corp® Competition) simulated entrepreneurs asking investors for funding. MBAs from the best business schools in the world presented their business plans to panels of investors. The investors then chose the best new venture. The linked business plans were presented at Moot Corp® Competitions.

Statista - 3 Step Tool for Business Plans
Statista's Business Plan Export tool helps you create your business plan in three steps: select market, select region, and export business plan. To access Business Plan Export from the Statista database landing page, hover over Expert Tools and select Business Plan Export. Your export can be downloaded as an Excel file containing tabs for raw Data based on your selections, a Market analysis, a Profit & Loss (P&L) Statement for you to model your business case, and a Comparison of your modeled P&L statement to the market.
How to Write a Business Plan (SBA)
Includes essential elements of a good business plan, how to make your business plan stand out, and a guide for writing a business plan.
Entrepreneur Magazine - Business Plans
Articles and resources on types and elements of plans, as well as over 125 samples of business plans

Wharton Entrepreneurship Business Plan Writing 101
Wharton Entrepreneurship Workshop, “Business Plan Writing 101,” featuring Patrick FitzGerald, Managing Director of DreamIt Ventures. FitzGerald discusses what is required to write an effective business plan.