Library Guides: IBUS 301/310 (Hudgens) Mapping Global Value Chains -: Countries

Databases

Passport This link opens in a new window
Complete New User Registration with university email to gain access.
Statistics and analysis of consumer products industries and service industries like travel and sports. Also covers consumer lifestyles as well as analysis of the economy, infrastructure, and business environment in over 200 countries.
Fitch Connect This link opens in a new window
Provides country risk; industry analysis and forecasts; and company information. Get detailed information on a country along with reports and data on industries and the economy. Provides profiles of leading companies within the industry.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text articles and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals, dating back as far as 1886.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access full text of journal articles (not including the most recent 2-6 years) as well as books and book chapters in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Wide range of statistics including consumer behavior, markets, industries, countries and trend forecasts.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Access news, business, and legal sources. These include regional, national, and international newspapers, news wires, broadcast transcripts, non-English language news sources, magazines, trade journals, business publications, SEC filings, law reviews, statutory, administrative and case law.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Best known for its publications and its statistics, the OECD’s work covers economic and social issues from macroeconomics, to trade, education, development, science and innovation.

Online Resources

globalEDGE
Arguably the best free online resource for global business information developed and hosted by Michigan State University.
TIP: Select a country and the "Resources" in the left column for links to that country's government resources--great for statistics, labor regulations, costs, etc.
Nationmaster
A vast compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD. You can generate maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics for different countries.
more...less...
Free website available from anywhere
BBC News
Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions.
*Includes audio and video clips from BBC archives
Select a country, territory or international organization
more...less...
Free website available from anywhere
Economic Freedom of the World
Annual reports available that uses 42 distinct pieces of data to measure economic freedom in 141 nations.
Social Security Country Profiles
The Country Profiles serve as an overview of social security programs in the Americas, Africa, Asia and the Pacific, and Europe. Scheme descriptions are provided for over 170 countries and territories, and profiles of complementary and private pensions in 50 countries. Cover national social security programs established by statute that insure individuals against interruption or loss of earnings resulting from old age, disability; sickness and maternity; work injury or occupational disease; unemployment; and child rearing.
World Bank Country Data
Research publications, news and data by country