It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Researching the effects of the 2008 financial crisis will require comprehensive use of analyis published through articles, books, white papers, etc., as well as evaluating changes in relevant statistics (e.g., macroeconomic indicators) and policies.
Below you will find links to resources containing this information.
*Contains Country Factbooks and other indicators in OECD.Stat
[TIP: Click on Statistics-->OECD.Stat-->DATA; Factbook Country Statistical Profiles are under General Statistics]
*Search for papers and books using keyword combinations (ex. Brazil + financial crisis)
World Bank Group now provides free, open, and easy access to its comprehensive set of data on living standards around the globe—some 2,000 indicators, including hundreds that go back 50 years— through its new data portal.
This new site currently contains the full World Development Indicators (WDI), Global Development Finance (GDF), and Africa Development Indicators (ADI) as well as several other World Bank databases such as Global Economic Monitor (GEM), Education Statistics, etc.
World Bank provides open access to all of their publications and statistics. The link above is for the entry point to most of their holdings. Find--
*Working papers, research reports, and books on policy, macroeconomics & growth, financial sectors, and more
*Country statistical data
TIPS: 1. Use the search or browse tools to find documents in the top right corner; 2. Also check out the Publications link at the top for further searching
This is the entry point to open access data provided by the IMF that includes country statistics, research reports, working papers, books, and other publications. *Statistics include principal global indicators, government finance, currency, financial soundness, investments, trade, and much more *Hover over RESEARCH in the top menu and select LATEST WORKING PAPERS to find analysis on the time period surrounding the 2008 crisis
Contains articles, newspapers, country reports, and more TIP: try searching "financial crisis" in one box and your country in the other (ex. financial cris?s + Congo -- using the ? will give you results for crisis and crises)
Although NBER is typically focused on the U.S., research around the financial crisis is covered globally. TIP: Select WORKING PAPERS & PUBLICATIONS and search for "financial crises" in the Working Papers search box (ex. paper: "The Trade Performance of Asian Economies During and Following the 2008 Financial Crisis")
Eurostat is the statistical office of the EU, and it has been heavily focused in researching and publishing guidance on the financial crisis and recovery. You can find:
-Financial Crisis and Statistics information
-The financial and economic crisis--facts and policies
-ESS action plan and much more
[TIP: the European Economic Statistics book from 2009 contains indicators of the crisis and planned actions]
Find analysis and reports on a country's economy around the time of the crisis by following these steps:
1. Hover over Consumers and select ECONOMY, FINANCE & TRADE
2. Select your country of interest under "Analysis Finder" and click on GO
TIP: On the resulting page, limit dates in the left column