Ask a Librarian
Research & Instruction Librarian
How to Search
Keywords are needed for each library database. Below is an example of what a keyword search could look like in a library database. For help with these kinds of searches, click on the "Ask a Librarian' chat box, or visit the Reference Desk in Thomas Cooper Library.
Multi-disciplinary Databases
-
Applied Science & Technology Source This link opens in a new windowCovers a wide variety of applied science specialties—from acoustics and aeronautics, to neural networks and nuclear & civil engineering.
-
Biological Science Collection This link opens in a new windowThis interdisciplinary database offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science.
-
Scopus This link opens in a new windowComprehensive and multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of scholarly literature, plus data and analytical tools.
-
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowIndexes thousands of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Also has cited reference searching and ways to refine and analyze your search results.
Engineering Databases
-
Engineering Village This link opens in a new windowAccess to Compendex, the comprehensive database for Engineering research, and Inspec, the premier database for physics and related areas.
-
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowUnlimited, full-text access to the entire IEEE collection of journals, magazines, and conference proceedings, plus all active and historical IEEE standards.
Medical/Health Databases
-
Embase This link opens in a new windowProvides coverage of drug research (pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology), with additional emphasis on basic biological and human research, health policy and management, biotechnology, and biomedical engineering.
-
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowProvides over 500 scholarly full-text journals focusing on nursing, allied health fields, and many medical disciplines. Patient education sheets from Lexi-PAL Drug Guide also included.
-
PubMed-Medline (with USC links) This link opens in a new windowPremier database to worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services.