Library Guides: ENGL 102: Finding Popular and Scholarly Sources

Top Databases

Find It @ USC Libraries
Search for articles, books, and more or limit to USC Libraries collection.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers all subject areas. Has a mix of magazines and journals including many that are peer-reviewed. Also includes a few major newspapers.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Features viewpoint articles, topic overviews and other sources on contemporary issues.
America's News This link opens in a new window
Full text content from thousands of local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers, news video, and news blogs. Coverage varies by title, with some titles providing full text since the late 1970s. Includes The State and other SC newspapers.
Wall Street Journal Higher Education Membership This link opens in a new window
Create an account for free individual access to the Wall Street Journal for USC Columbia students, faculty, and staff through WSJ.com as well as WSJ apps, subscriber-only podcasts and videos. You must use your university email address to register for your account.
New York Times - Online Pass This link opens in a new window
Get unlimited access to NYTimes.com and some NYT mobile apps. You will need to claim your pass and register it with an online account first. After registration, simply login to NYTimes.com from anywhere and enjoy free access.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Wide range of statistics including consumer behavior, markets, industries, countries and trend forecasts.
iPOLL (Roper Center) This link opens in a new window
The largest source for opinion polling data. Data covers 1935 to the present on a broad range of topics.
Questions can be searched by keyword, topic, date, or source. The database includes polls from many sources: major news organizations (CBS, ABC, Associated Press, etc.), public opinion research centers (Gallup, Harris, Pew, etc.), and major academic and commercial pollsters. Only polls of the United States population at the national level are included, but international datasets are available for immediate download.