Subject Librarian
Choosing a Topic
Taking the time to carefully choose and refine your topic can save you significant time and effort later in your research.
-
How to Choose a TopicThis short video tells you the questions to ask and describes the process of choosing a workable research question.
Finding Background Information
-
Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowUse to find quick facts, images or background information on various topics in dictionaries and encyclopedias.
-
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Social Work This link opens in a new windowBibliography of topics in social work and related disciplines. Entries have an introduction to the topic before identifying introductory works, journals, theoretical works and citations to key literature of sub-topics.
-
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new windowFully indexed, cross-searchable database of dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences published by Oxford University Press.
-
Sage Reference This link opens in a new windowIncludes over 120 subject encyclopedias and handbooks primarily in business and the social sciences.
Research Methods 101
-
Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new windowProvides a variety of material types, including books, reference works, case studies, videos, and journal articles, related to research methodology.
DSM-5
-
PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new windowAn online portal featuring DSM-5 ®, DSM-5-TR ® DSM-5 ® Handbook of Differential Diagnosis and DSM-5 ® Clinical Cases.