Library Guides: Social Work Research Guide: Demographic Data & Statistics

Demographic Data & Statistics Databases

Databases to look for demographic data and statistics.

Census Data from data.census.gov
New platform for centralized access to data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau.
PolicyMap
Data and mapping application that includes demographics, housing, crime, health, jobs, and more at all common geographies (e.g., block group, census tract, zip code, etc.) Includes Claritas 360 consumer lifestyle data.
Sage Data
Huge collection of U.S. and international statistics and datasets. Includes data analysis tools and customizable data visualizations.
Social Explorer
An online demographic research tool that allow users to visually explore hundreds of thousands of data indicators across demography, economy, health, religion, crime and more.
U.S. Census Bureau
Includes the Census of Population and Housing, Economic Census, Census of Governments and other Census Bureau surveys, data and publications.
U.S. Gazetteer
Download Census gazetteer files.
World Bank Open Data
World Bank Group now provides free, open, and easy access to its comprehensive set of data on living standards around the globe—some 2,000 indicators, including hundreds that go back 50 years— through its new data portal.

This new site currently contains the full World Development Indicators (WDI), Global Development Finance (GDF), and Africa Development Indicators (ADI) as well as several other World Bank databases such as Global Economic Monitor (GEM), Education Statistics, etc.