Ask a Librarian Online
Research & Instruction Librarian
How to Start
Choose keywords
- Start with your research question and take out 2-3 main "ideas"
- Research question: What are the ethical concerns regarding the use of AI in the military?
- Keywords: AI, military, and ethics
- Put each keyword on it's own line
- Tip: use "quotation marks" for 2+ words
Academic Papers
Best bets:
-
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowIndexes thousands of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Also has cited reference searching and ways to refine and analyze your search results.
-
Scopus This link opens in a new windowComprehensive and multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of scholarly literature, plus data and analytical tools.
Other databases:
-
American Mathematical Society Journals This link opens in a new windowFull text access to the research journals produced by the American Mathematical Society (AMS).
-
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowSearch journals in the sciences as well as some business, social sciences, and humanities titles. Only those journals to which USC Columbia subscribes are available full text.
Books, Articles, and More
To find the books available to you as a student at USC, use the library catalog to search for your topic. Here are some tips for your searches:
-
FindIt @ USCSearches all of USC Resources available, including materials in Thomas Cooper Library and all of the library's databases.
- Enter your search as keywords, using AND and OR to connect the ideas
- Ex: ("forest fire") AND ("United States" OR USA) AND (increase)
- Filter by resource type (books, articles, newspapers, etc.)
- Filter by year (if relevant)
Newspapers
-
Access World News This link opens in a new windowNews from 1978 to current. Search globally or restrict your search to a world region, country, state, or language.
-
America's News This link opens in a new windowFull text content from thousands of local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers, news video, and news blogs. Coverage varies by title, with some titles providing full text since the late 1970s. Includes The State and other SC newspapers.
-
Global Newsstream This link opens in a new windowSearch for recent news content from across the globe all at once, including major U.S. papers such as NYT, WSJ, LA Times, and Chicago Tribune, as well as international news in multiple languages. Some archives go back to the 1980s.
-
New York Times - Online Pass This link opens in a new windowGet unlimited access to NYTimes.com and some NYT mobile apps. You will need to claim your pass and register it with an online account first. After registration, simply login to NYTimes.com from anywhere and enjoy free access.
-
ProQuest News & Newspapers This link opens in a new windowIncludes all the newspaper titles, recent and historical, that the library subscribes to from ProQuest. Other online newspaper resources are available by choosing Newspapers under Database Types.
-
Wall Street Journal Higher Education Membership This link opens in a new windowCreate an account for free individual access to the Wall Street Journal for USC Columbia students, faculty, and staff through WSJ.com as well as WSJ apps, subscriber-only podcasts and videos. You must use your university email address to register for your account.