Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

The Banking Industry in South Carolina

Introduction

Both those directly involved in banking and those who worked with banking legislation played important roles in the development of the industry in South Carolina. South Carolina Political Collections (SCPC) includes rich collections which approach the topic from a variety of angles.

Explore our collections below.

From the Archives

Collection Connections: Bankers

SCPC houses the papers of important figures in South Carolina's banking industry:

For relevant results, search "Victory Savings Bank." 

Hendricks served in the South Carolina House of Representatives (1977-1987) before acting as President of the South Carolina Bankers Association (SCBA, 1986-2012).

Boxes 1, 2, 3, 4. Relates to SCBA and a variety of topics from interstate banking to public finance.

Collection Connections: Legislators

Less obvious, but of great value in documenting the banking industry, are the collections of South Carolina leaders in state government and Congress:

SCPC:

Boxes 3, 8, 11, 15, 16, 18, 19, 20, 22, 24, 28, 31, 33, 40, 44, 47, 63, 64, 65, 66. The collection is arranged by year and then topically within each year. Folders containing records about the banking industry are dated 1977 to 1994.

Boxes 31, 39, 43, 49, 55, 67, 74, 84, 94, 103. Topical files in this collection are arranged in two-year periods mirroring each Congressional session. Records relating to the banking industry are included in the period 1955 to 1972. Included is a folder on the Federal Savings Institution Act (1967).

Boxes 92, 111, 112, 137, 163, 187, 223, 261, 292, 317, 343, 367, 388, 408, 428, 429, 453, 454, 478, 479, 480, 504, 525, 553. Folders include information on the Truth in Lending Act (1968), Hollings’ appointment to the Banking and Currency Committee, credit unions, mortgages, the Federal Reserve, currency in general and for the blind, the Bankruptcy Reform Bill (1985), and the Competitive Banking Act and Moratorium (1987), among others.

Boxes 46, 53, 58, 64. Includes mostly general records as well as those on the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC).

Box 5. Relates to the Bank Holdings Company Act, DuPont Exemption Amendment, Honea Path Federal Savings and Loan, and general files.

Box 28. General banking information.

Boxes 2, 8, 22 (clippings). Folders contain records about interest rates, interstate banking legislation, the Banking and Consumer Affairs subcommittee, and newspaper clippings on banking in general.

Box 1. General information about banking, 1954-1964.

Boxes 7, 35. General information as well as "Governor's Banking Conference on Local Development Financing" speech (1981).

John G. Sproat Interviews, 1987-1990

SCL: John G. Sproat conducted 39 interviews with 40 narrators on the banking industry between 1987 and 1990. 

Contact the SCL for more information.