Subject Librarian
Finding Background Information
Use these sources to gain familiarity with your topic, narrow your research question, provide context, and identify experts.
- Find It @ USC LibrariesSearch for articles, books, and more or limit to USC Libraries collection.
- MatWeb - Material Property DataA searchable database with data sheets for over 180,000 metals, plastics, ceramics, and composites. Includes possible uses and manufacturers when available.
**Note: Advanced Search unavailable at this time - International Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry and TechnologyThis classic and well-known reference was originally published from 1926 - 1930 for the National Research Council. Featuring physical, thermodynamic, mechanical, and other key properties on inorganic and organic compounds, and pure substances.
- Oxford Dictionary of Weights, Measures, and UnitsThis comprehensive dictionary provides clear definitions of all the units, prefixes, and styling of the Système International (SI), as well as industry-specific and traditional terms currently in use.
- Oxford Dictionary of ScientistsFrom Archimedes and Copernicus to Stephen Hawking and Stephen Jay Gould, this is the most authoritative and up-to-date biographical dictionary of scientists currently available. Spanning over 2,500 years, it covers all areas of science.
- Smithsonian Physical Tables (9th Revised Edition)901 tables of general interest to scientists and engineers, and of particular interest to those involved with physics in its larger sense.
Engineering Problem Solving by ISBN: 0080946828Publication Date: 2001-12-31This book fills in many of the gaps in engineering education by showing students and professionals, the historical background of problem solving.
Choosing a Topic
Taking the time to carefully choose and refine your topic can save you significant time and effort later in your research.
- How to Choose a TopicThis short video tells you the questions to ask and describes the process of choosing a workable research question.
Understanding Primary and Secondary Sources
Primary sources = Original Research
- Written by the scientists(s) or researcher(s) who conducted the experiment or study
- Should include sections detailing how the research was performed such as methodology, results, and discussion/conclusions
Secondary sources = Summarize, Review or Compare
- Authors did not conduct the research studies which are mentioned or cited in the article themselves
- Purpose is to summarize, review, or compare the published research on a specific topic