Subject Librarian
Computer Science Research
Finding Background Information
Use these sources to gain familiarity with your topic, narrow your research question, provide context, and identify experts.
- Find It @ USC LibrariesSearch for articles, books, and more or limit to USC Libraries collection.
- International Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry and TechnologyThis classic and well-known reference was originally published from 1926 - 1930 for the National Research Council. Featuring physical, thermodynamic, mechanical, and other key properties on inorganic and organic compounds, and pure substances.
- Oxford Dictionary of Weights, Measures, and UnitsThis comprehensive dictionary provides clear definitions of all the units, prefixes, and styling of the Système International (SI), as well as industry-specific and traditional terms currently in use.
- Oxford Dictionary of ScientistsFrom Archimedes and Copernicus to Stephen Hawking and Stephen Jay Gould, this is the most authoritative and up-to-date biographical dictionary of scientists currently available. Spanning over 2,500 years, it covers all areas of science.
- Smithsonian Physical Tables (9th Revised Edition)901 tables of general interest to scientists and engineers, and of particular interest to those involved with physics in its larger sense.
Encyclopedia of Computer Science and Technology by Publication Date: 2021This book provides an extensive summary of how technology has developed over decades, the future of computer programs and applications, and the significance of computer components.
Encyclopedia of Nanoscience and Society by ISBN: 1412969875Publication Date: 2010-07-14These two volumes cover the ethical, legal, policy, social, economic, and business issues raised by nanoscience and technology
Choosing a Topic
Taking the time to carefully choose and refine your topic can save you significant time and effort later in your research
- How to Choose a TopicThis short video tells you the questions to ask and describes the process of choosing a workable research question.