Subject Librarian
Choosing a Topic
Taking the time to carefully choose and refine your topic can save you significant time and effort later in your research.
-
How to Choose a TopicThis short video tells you the questions to ask and describes the process of choosing a workable research question.
Finding Background Information
Use these sources to gain familiarity with your topic, narrow your research question, provide context, and identify experts
-
Find It @ USC LibrariesSearch for articles, books, and more or limit to USC Libraries collection. Expand your search to PASCAL Delivers to find and request materials from other South Carolina academic libraries.
-
International Encyclopedia of EducationFind background information and overviews of global issues in education.
-
Sage Reference This link opens in a new windowIncludes over 120 subject encyclopedias and handbooks primarily in business and the social sciences.
-
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new windowFind detailed review essays on specialized topics across the Arts and Humanities; Law; Medicine and Health; Science and Mathematics; and Social Sciences.
Comparing Find It & Subject Databases
Find It @ USC Libraries
Find It gathers metadata (all the info that describes something) from a LOT of sources--publishers, database creators, library catalogs, etc. The same thing might not be described the same way.
Because it is so wide-ranging and diverse, to get the most out of Find It try a lot of different searches using a variety of keywords.
Subject Specific Databases
A database like ERIC, Education Source, PsycINFO, PubMed or SPORTDiscus concentrates on the literature of a discipline. Databases add value by assigning consistent descriptors/subject terms.
Because a specialized database represents a smaller universe, a big part of searching effectively is making sure you are including terms the database uses. Look and see if your database has a thesaurus.