Welcome to the South Carolina Political Collections (SCPC) subject guide for . Below we've listed some of the topics from SCPC's collections that you might find useful.
If you have any questions or comments about this guide please contact us. This guide isn't exhaustive, so check out our finding aids below.
Letters encouraging Olin Dewitt Talmadge Johnston (ODJ) in his opposition of desegregation are found throughout his collection and effectively capture the sentiment of the constituents at the time, including reactions to the Brown v. Board ruling (Box 40). There are countless requests and even petitions for ODJ to stop Congress and the Supreme Court as they attempted to desegregate the nation (Boxes 47, 89). For example, in 1953 student Larry Duncan wrote, “Perhaps I am prejudiced by my previous training however I think all races should be separate” (Box 35). Another constituent supported segregation in the form of an Aesop’s fable, titled “Aesop did not write this one” (Box 40). A copy of the anti-desegregation publication, The White Sentinel (August 1955), speculates on the effects of military desegregation. It is a useful sampling of the perspectives held by advocates of segregation (Box 46). An assortment of clippings relates to the closing of schools which refused to integrate as well as the issue of Federal School Aid in 1955 (Boxes 132, 133).
The William D. Workman Jr. Collection contains many pamphlets, booklets, and reports in response to desegregation which offer useful comparisons (Box 35). In "Eliminating Racial Segregation in the Baltimore Public Schools," a Baltimore superintendent says, “no effort will be made deliberately to transfer children of either race for the purpose of mixing schools.” (Box 34).
Harvey Gantt, who studied architecture, was the first African-American admitted to Clemson University in 1963.
In 1957, faculty members at Allen University and Benedict College, two all-black institutions in Columbia, South Carolina, were fired for Communist ties.
The William D. Workman Jr. Collection contains the majority of information on the dismissal of the three teachers at each of the schools (Box 27). There are clippings discussing how the schools lost their certifications, as can be seen in “S.C. No Longer To Accept Allen’s Education Courses: No Reasons Are Given For Action” (Box 48).
Much commentary can be found in the Workman collection about the eventual acceptance of white refugee students at Allen University. Clippings pertaining to a similar situation at Benedict College and relating to USC’s early refusal to accept black students are located in this collection as well (Box 48).