Subject Librarian
Limit to Peer Reviewed Articles
The resources below are used to locate peer reviewed scholarly analysis focused specific television programs, directors, themes, etc. Scholarly analysis is more academic and substantial than reviews of television programs.
Once you conduct the search, locate the “Refine Results” section, usually on the left side of the results page. Select "Peer Reviewed". Your search should automatically update.
Top Databases
- Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSubject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
- Find It @ USCSearch articles, books, and more. Can limit to Peer Reviewed.
Additional Databases for Peer Reviewed Articles
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowCovers all subject areas. Has a mix of magazines and journals including many that are peer-reviewed. Also includes a few major newspapers.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch journals, books and conference proceedings in communication studies, including film and television, journalism and mass media, linguistics, speech and hearing etc.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAccess full text of journal articles (not including the most recent 2-6 years) as well as books and book chapters in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowSearch a collection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals and ebooks. Only the content to which USC Columbia subscribes is available full text.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.