Librarian
South Carolina Political Collections
Contact:
Ernest F. Hollings Special Collections Library
University of South Carolina
1322 Greene St.
Columbia, SC 29208
University of South Carolina
1322 Greene St.
Columbia, SC 29208
(803) 777-0582
Website
Subjects: South Carolina Political Collections
Ike Williams
All About Ike
“The consummate activist,” according to Congressman Jim Clyburn, Isaac W. “Ike” Williams (1945-2008) dedicated his life to community service and the advancement of civil rights. Most notably, he served as Field Director of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) in South Carolina from 1969 to 1983. Numerous awards from the NAACP and other civic organizations recognized this lifetime of service.
From the Archives
- Plan for student march and meeting with governor--outtakes
This link opens in a new window
Click on the icon above to watch this 1968 footage from Moving Image Research Collections. - Confederate flag controversy--outtakes
- This link opens in a new window
Click the icon above to watch this 1972 footage from Moving Image Research Collections. - For the people march: For MLK Jr.
- This link opens in a new window
Click the icon above to watch this 1976 footage from Moving Image Research Collections. Williams speaks from 21:50 to 25:20.
Collection Connections
The Reverend Isaiah DeQuincey Newman was Williams' mentor and an inspiration for his civil rights activism. The Newman papers have been digitized and contain records relating to Williams, including:
Letters to and from Williams are available in civil rights activist Modjeska Simkins' digitized collection: