South Caroliniana Library Celebrates National Library Week

Topics discussed include Salley's research on the Mecklenburg Declaration of Independence (1905-1912, 1915, 1921), including correspondence with Ulrich B. Phillips re the lack of evidence for such a document and other matters; politics, especially the administration of Gov. Coleman L. Blease; conservation of wildlife; meetings of the American Historical Association in Charleston and Columbia in 1913; statues of Wade Hampton, George Washington, and other aspects of the buildings and grounds of the S.C. Statehouse; genealogical research; Jamison Monument Fund; Salley's work as secretary of the S.C. Historical Society and as state historian of the S.C. Historical Commission; political leaflets and handbills.

The papers of Augusta Baker consist of 8.75 cubic feet of various materials, in thirteen series, detailing her life as a librarian spanning from the 1930s through the 1990s.

This collection consists of approximately fifteen linear feet of manuscripts and related materials providing important insights into the life and work of educator, librarian, and community leader Ethel Martin Bolden (1918-2002) in Columbia and throughout the greater South Carolina area.

Chiefly letters and papers that relate to Easterby's research and publications as an historian, archivist and active member of his community in Charleston (S.C.); portion of correspondence reflects his difficulties in securing financial aid to promote and publish his research during the Great Depression and World War II on history of education in South Carolina, rice plantations during the colonial and antebellum eras; transcriptions and selections from the writings of Robert F.W. Allston (1801-1864) and other topics.

The papers of James Mitchell Reames (1920-1987) span the years 1907 through 1990. Included in the papers are correspondence, writings, reports, news clippings, scrapbooks, and audio tapes. Units of material in the collection reveal Reames's dedication to librarianship and Methodism in South Carolina, and the collection focuses principally upon these two lifelong commitments. The primary focus of the collection is Reames's professional career as an academic librarian working in and for South Carolina libraries, with the exception of six years spent in Louisiana.

Born in Philadelphia in 1844, Greener rose to relative prominence early in his academic career, as the first black graduate of Harvard University in 1870. Three years later, he accepted a position at the University of South Carolina, where he taught philosophy, Latin, and Greek and served as the school’s Librarian. He was the first and only African-American member of the faculty, and served until 1877 when newly elected Governor Wade Hampton III closed the university. During his tenure he also earned his law degree from USC, and was admitted to practice by the South Carolina Supreme Court.

Robert L. Meriwether Papers, 1919 and 1939-1959, consisting of photocopied newspaper clippings re his career as director of the South Caroliniana Library and editor of the Calhoun Papers project, reviews of his publication, The expansion of South Carolina, accounts of University of South Caroliniana Society annual meetings, and notices of his death. Leaflet, 1940, Kingsport, Tennessee, announcing the publication of "The Expansion of South Carolina, 1729-1765." Includes resolution "Expressing gratitude to the late Robert L. Meriwether and congratulating W. Edwin Hemphill, Philip M. Hamer, and George C. Rogers for their notable achievement for the collection, compilation, and publication of the Papers of John C. Calhoun and the Papers of Henry Laurens."

A.C. Moore papers, 1882-1941; (bulk, 1890-1926) consist of correspondence with faculty and administrators at USC and elsewhere (chiefly in Carton 4), zoological notes, and botanical drawings documenting the life of A.C. Moore (1866-1928), and his long association with the University of South Carolina and higher education, including correspondence and drawings from the period of his graduate and post-graduate studies (1898-1900 and 1925) in botany and genetics at the University of Chicago, and research (1901) in marine biology at Woods Hole, Massachusetts. Materials dating from Moore's years as professor at U.S.C. include letters, 1909, from his father describing the purchase of a generator and the electrification of the family farm in Spartanburg County, S.C.; and letters pertaining to University matters, including the disbanding of secret fraternities on the campus, a resolution by U.S.C. students to prohibit hazing, a coordination plan between the College for Women in Columbia, S.C., and USC, and the inauguration of a program for the study of South Carolina history.

The Wanda Forbes papers of materials mainly documenting her involvement in the Republican Party. The General file contains a variety of materials including that on the Lewis Jones history. Topical includes Campaigns, the National Commission on Library and Information Science, Republican Party, South Carolina Commission on Higher Education, and Writings. Campaigns consists of correspondence and financial information on her S.C. House races in 1984 and 1986. Considerable documentation exists regarding Forbes’ service with the National Commission on Library and Information Services (NCLIS).

Chiefly correspondence, reports, records of library operations, transcripts of radio work, and other promotional materials about the work of Faith Cabin Libraries, and photocopies of articles re Willie Lee Buffington and his work to establish Faith Cabin Libraries in South Carolina and Georgia; and master list of Faith Cabin Libraries locations in South Carolina, [ca. 1961].