Library Guides: Physics and Astronomy Research Guide: Getting Started

Understanding Scientific Primary and Secondary Sources

Primary sources = Original Research

Written by the scientists(s) or researcher(s) who conducted the experiment or study
Should include sections detailing how the research was performed such as methodology, results, and discussion/conclusions

Secondary sources = Summarize, Review or Compare

Authors did not conduct the research studies which are mentioned or cited in the article themselves
Purpose is to summarize, review, or compare the published research on a specific topic

International Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry, and Technology
This classic and well-known reference was originally published from 1926 - 1930 for the National Research Council. Featuring physical, thermodynamic, mechanical, and other key properties on inorganic and organic compounds, and pure substa
Knovel Critical Tables
This important, interactive Knovel reference contains tables of physical, solvent, and thermodynamic properties. Several tables make use of the interactive Equation Plotter to plot thermodynamic properties as a function of temperature.
NIST Physical Reference Data
The National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), an agency of the U.S. Department of Commerce, has provided the public a list of critically evaluated data sets. The following are some topics found in the resource: X-ray and Gamma-ray data, Condensed Matter Physics data, Nuclear Physics data, and more.
Smithsonian Physical Tables (9th Revised Edition)
901 tables of general interest to scientists and engineers, and of particular interest to those involved with physics in its larger sense.

A Dictionary of Astronomy
Contains over 4,200 up-to-date entries on all aspects of astronomy. It covers everything from space exploration and the equipment involved, to astrophysics, cosmology, and the concept of time.
A Dictionary of Space Exploration
Explains the jargon used in space exploration, including such weird and wonderful terms as ‘cherry picker’ and ‘burp firing’; also provides detailed articles on key subjects, such as the Apollo project, and a comprehensive chronology.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Comprehensive reference source for science research across a broad array of disciplines.
Oxford Dictionary of Scientists
From Archimedes and Copernicus to Stephen Hawking and Stephen Jay Gould, this is the most authoritative and up-to-date biographical dictionary of scientists currently available. Spanning over 2,500 years, it covers all areas of science.
Oxford Dictionary of Weights, Measures, and Units
This comprehensive dictionary provides clear definitions of all the units, prefixes, and styling of the Système International (SI), as well as industry-specific and traditional terms currently in use.