Library Guides: Journalism &amp; Mass Communications Research Guide: Advertising

Finding Scholarly Sources: Top Databases

These are the top databases for finding scholarly, peer-reviewed articles related to advertising.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text articles and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals, dating back as far as 1886.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Search journals, books and conference proceedings in communication studies, including film and television, journalism and mass media, linguistics, speech and hearing etc.

Advertising Resources

These are the top databases for conducting research in advertising, including finding information and statistics on consumer behavior, advertising expenditures, market reports, and more.

Ad Age This link opens in a new window
Register for a free individual account to access data, news, and analysis on the advertising, media, and marketing industries. You will need to use your university email address for registration. Find additional details about how to register.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Industry market research reports for the U.S., China and Global Industries in almost every category.
MRI-Simmons Insights This link opens in a new window
Find data about consumer behavior, media consumption, and attitudes.
SRDS Media Solutions This link opens in a new window
Provides information for different advertising media (ad rates, circulation, market analysis, and more). The Claritas 360 module provides data on lifestyles, interests, and hobbies within specific geographic and demographic markets as well as PRIZM segmentation reports.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Wide range of statistics including consumer behavior, markets, industries, countries and trend forecasts.
Vivvix 360 This link opens in a new window
Find total expenditures for advertising by company, industry, and brand/product category. Limited users at one time. Click *Logout* when you are done with your session.
Winmo This link opens in a new window
Search by company or brand to find media spend, media mix, and advertising agency relationships. Also includes StatSocial demographic information for social media followers and creative ad campaign content. (WinmoEdge not included.)

Other Useful Databases

Find research, statistics, international and national news, trade publications, dissertations, and more.

Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Citations, abstracts, and often full text for dissertations and theses, primarily from North American institutions.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Connect directly to USC subscription content:
*Click on the three horizontal bars in the corner, Select Settings and click on Library links
*Search University Libraries South Carolina
*Select UofSC University Libraries - ViewIt@UofSC
*Click Save
Never purchase an article! Check the library's resources or make a free ILL request.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Access news, business, and legal sources. These include regional, national, and international newspapers, news wires, broadcast transcripts, non-English language news sources, magazines, trade journals, business publications, SEC filings, law reviews, statutory, administrative and case law.