Subject Librarian
For all your projects
- Find It @ USC LibrariesThe place to go to learn what is in any of the USC Columbia Libraries, plus find articles or expand your search with PASCAL Delivers to all the academic libraries in the state and request books be delivered.
- Black Life in America This link opens in a new windowA unique digital archive of American and global news media covering the African American experience from 1704 to the present. Series 1 and 2 are provided by funds from a donation by the Williams Companies to the University's Center for Civil Rights History and Research.
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new windowJournal articles, book reviews and other secondary sources written by professional historians. Covers the history of the United States and Canada.
- The South Carolina Encyclopedia OnlineEntries for Penn Center and Port Royal Experiment.
Port Royal Experiment
The Port Royal Experiment by Publication Date: 2014Ebook. The Port Royal Experiment divides into ten chapters, each of which is designed to treat a particular aspect of the experience. Topics include planning considerations, philanthropic society activity, civil society, economic development, political development, and resistance.
Rebellion, Reconstruction, and Redemption, 1861-1893 by Publication Date: 2015Ebook. The second of three volumes on the history of Beaufort County, details the district from 1861 to 1893. During a span of thirty years the region was transformed by the crucible of war from a wealthy, slave-based white oligarchy to a county where former slaves dominated a new, radically democratic political economy.
Listed below are some sources that are available online. The list is not exhaustive. Dig deeper yourself using Find It@USC, and databases including Dissertations and Theses Global.
- The new south newspaper Port Royal & Beaufort, 1862-1866Sixty-four issues of the newspaper have been digitized for you to search and read
- The Penn School of St. Helena: Breaking the shackles of illiteracy on the Sea Islands of South Carolina, 1862 to 1922Dissertation, 1999 from Syracuse University
- Letters and diary of Laura M. Towne; written from the Sea Islands of South Carolina, 1862-1884Full Text Available at HathiTrust
- Penn School PapersSome content for this collection at the University of North Carolina is available online. Browse the contents list to access.
- Of freedom unto all : an archaeological examination of the Port Royal experimentAvailable online from Chicora Foundation. Essay providing a brief history of the "Port Royal experiment" (Beaufort County, S.C.) and its archaeological remains.
- The archaeological manifestations of the "Port Royal experiment" at Mitchelville, Hilton Head Island, South CarolinaAvailable online from the South Carolina State Library. This paper presented at the 1987 Society for Historical Archaeology Conference gives a history of the Port Royal Experiment.
- The lifestyle of freemen at Mitchelville, Hilton Head Island: Evidence of a changing pattern of Afro-American archaeological visibilityAvailable online from Chicora Foundation
- American nation-building: case studies from Reconstruction to AfghanistanSee especially chapter 9, Nation-building and civil society : Mitchelville
Available from your class Blackboard site (these links give you information about the sources)
Foodways
You'll pick a rice dish from your own heritage for the assignment. These sources and searches could provide background on the dish or the place of rice in a cultural group.
Materials from South Caroliniana Library available to your class in Blackboard
Selected pages from: Hilliard, Theresa Jenkins. Mama Doonk’s Gullah Recipes. Theresa Jenkins Hilliard Publishing, 2018.
Penn School & Sea Islands Heritage Cookbook. Fundcraft Publishing, 1983.
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture by Publication Date: 2002Ebook. The entry on rice, begins on page 190.
- Find It search: rice cookingOnline and print books in the Libraries' collections.
- Find It search: Gullah OR Geechee AND cooking OR foodSearch excludes materials in the South Caroliniana Library
Materials from South Caroliniana Library available to your class in Blackboard
Selected pages from: Hilliard, Theresa Jenkins. Mama Doonk’s Gullah Recipes. Theresa Jenkins Hilliard Publishing, 2018.
Penn School & Sea Islands Heritage Cookbook. Fundcraft Publishing, 1983.
Art
- Find It searchAdvanced search
gullah OR geechee OR "sea islands"
AND
art OR basket* OR "material culture"