Library Guides: STAT 112: Statistics and the Media (Edwards): STAT 112

How to Start

Start with your research question and take out 2-3 main "ideas"
1. Research question: What are the ethical concerns regarding the use of AI in the military?
2. Keywords: AI, military, and ethics
Put each keyword on it's own line
1. Tip: use "quotation marks" for 2+ words

Credo Reference
Use to find quick facts, images or background information on various topics in dictionaries and encyclopedias.
Sage Reference
Includes over 120 subject encyclopedias and handbooks primarily in business and the social sciences.
Sage Research Methods
Provides a variety of material types, including books, reference works, case studies, videos, and journal articles, related to research methodology.

MasterFILE Premier
Contains full text for nearly 1,700 magazines and newspapers. Search by keyword and download articles.
Note: Filter for 'magazine' and 'source date' for relevant results

FindIt @ USC
Searches all of USC Resources available, including materials in Thomas Cooper Library and all of the library's databases.

New York Times - Online Pass
Get unlimited access to NYTimes.com and some NYT mobile apps. You will need to claim your pass and register it with an online account first. After registration, simply login to NYTimes.com from anywhere and enjoy free access.
ProQuest News & Newspapers
Includes all the newspaper titles, recent and historical, that the library subscribes to from ProQuest. Other online newspaper resources are available by choosing Newspapers under Database Types.
Wall Street Journal Higher Education Membership
Create an account for free individual access to the Wall Street Journal for USC Columbia students, faculty, and staff through WSJ.com as well as WSJ apps, subscriber-only podcasts and videos. You must use your university email address to register for your account.

Tip: add the keyword "study" to your search strategy

Academic Search Complete
Covers all subject areas. Has a mix of magazines and journals including many that are peer-reviewed. Also includes a few major newspapers.

FindIt @ USC
Searches all of USC Resources available, including materials in Thomas Cooper Library and all of the library's databases.

Web of Science Core Collection
Indexes thousands of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Also has cited reference searching and ways to refine and analyze your search results.