Contact Info
50 Years of WGST
With the first classes offered in 1973, the Women's and Gender Studies Department at USC is celebrating its 50th anniversary this academic year.
Local Primary Sources
- Gamecock, The (1908-current) This link opens in a new windowDigital archives of The Gamecock and The Daily Gamecock, the university's independent student newspaper.
- Garnet and Black Yearbooks, 1899-1994Scanned versions of USC Columbia Yearbooks from 1899-1994.
- State Newspaper (1891-present) This link opens in a new windowKeyword-searchable, online access to the entire historical archive of Columbia's newspaper from 1891 up to today's issue.
- 1977 International Women's Year (IWY) Oral History CollectionExplore approximately 700 interviews recorded during the 1977 National Women’s Conference in Houston, Texas, and a preceding state-level conference in Columbia, South Carolina.
- Minutes of the SC Commission on Higher EducationPDF files from 1967-2010 held at the SC Department of Archives and History. Files are NOT full-text searchable by keyword.
This document provides general search tips for searching historical newspapers, as well as specific details for NewsBank resources (such as The State) including how to do proximity searches (NEARx).
Historical and Contemporary Newspaper Sources
- ProQuest News & Newspapers This link opens in a new windowSearch across multiple major national newspapers, including the New York Times and the Washington Post.
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowSearch hundreds of local, regional, national, and international newspapers all at once. Articles go back as far as 1978.
Library Audio Production Studio
Located on Level 5 of Thomas Cooper Library, the Audio Production Studio provides both the hardware and software for students to create their own multimedia projects.
Collaborative List of Sources
- Women's Studies: Courses and Programs for Higher Education (1973)Produced in 1973 by the American Association for Higher Education [Shared by Kathy Snediker]