The University Libraries collections include significant and wide-ranging books, databases, journals, articles, and more that include information about artificial intelligence, machine learning, and related topics.
Start at the Libraries home page and type "artificial intelligence" in the Find It @ USC search box to locate a broad selection of available content. For more precise results, choose the Advanced Search option. Limit your search to Title or Subject, combine terms related to AI, select formats such as book, journal article, etc., and more. We have a lot.
An Advanced Search of USC Libraries limiting to Title with the exact phrase Artificial Intelligence and Material Type limited to Books yields over 1700 titles!
The University Libraries provides access to a wide variety of databases that are likely to include journal articles, proceedings, and other published content about the topics of artificial intelligence and related concepts. We highlight a few below that are most likely to contain such information.
Primary research in the developments of artificial intelligence and related concepts can be found in many computer science and engineering databases.
Artificial intelligence, machine learning, and related concepts are common topics of research and discussion in the fields of health and medicine.
Research and discussion about artificial intelligence and its related concepts can be found throughout a broad range of academic and popular literature. Less technical topics such as impacts and implications, practical uses, social and ethical considerations of artificial intelligence and others may be found in databases such as those listed below.
The University Libraries also offers access to numerous journals focused on aspects of artificial intelligence and related concepts. Here are some of the many made available for use by USC students, faculty, and staff.
Please be aware, this list is just a small example subset of the journals specifically focused on artificial intelligence available from the University Libraries. To see a more extensive list, go to the Libraries home page, click Journals under the search box, type ai OR artificial intelligence in the Journal Search box. (Be sure to capitalize the OR) and click the search icon to retrieve a more extensive (though still not comprehensive) listing.
The University Libraries offers a growing catalog of learning sessions focused on the basics of generative artificial intelligence. To see and register for sessions currently being offered, use the link below.
Terms and Concepts
Artificial Intelligence and generative AI are the talk of the town. In the news, in articles, in the workplace, in common conversation. Do we actually know what's being discussed? There is a world of terminology and concepts related to artificial intelligence. In this learning session, we will provide access to some AI glossaries. We will pull out and discuss some of the most common terms and related concepts. Hopefully, after this session, you will feel more comfortable having a general idea of what is being discussed in all the AI conversations.
Prompt Engineering
How can we get the best results when using generative AI tools? As with most information systems, their effectiveness is determined, in large part, by the information we provide to them in the form of our prompts. Prompt engineering is the process of creating detailed input from which gen AI tools can successfully respond. We will discuss principles and tips for creating effective prompts. We will also look at some tools and techniques that can assist with prompt generation.
Chatbots and Content Generators
The current AI rage started with a chatbot, ChatGPT. Others, such as Bing Copilot (formerly Chat), Google Gemini (formerly Bard), Claude.ai, Perplexity, etc., followed. Then came the generative image content generators such as Dall-e, Midjourney, and others. Now we are awash in gen AI tools of all kinds being developed for both broad and narrow purposes. Art, image, and graphics. Video. Audio. Writing. Coding. We'll take a look at some examples and provide a general overview of the breadth of available possibilities.
Building a Research Process Tookit - Parts I and II
Are you exploring and building your generative AI and AI-related academic research toolkit? While the academic research process varies by discipline, there are general steps applicable in most all situations such as defining a research problem, carrying out a literature review, collecting and analyzing data, writing an explanatory narrative, etc. A growing number of AI and generative AI-related tools are being developed that can be useful in accomplishing these various steps. This two-part learning session will consider several of the research process steps and explore the usefulness of select gen AI and AI-related tools. During this first session, we will focus on tools to assist with discovering and developing a research problem statement as well as tools to help carry out an effective literature review and analysis.
What’s the Word in AI? Know These Commonly Used AI terms
We hear and read the terms: AI, generative AI, Machine Learning, etc. Do we know what they mean? We often accept terminology related to AI without understanding their meanings. This session presents several commonly used AI-related terms and explains what they mean and why they are important.
Prompt Me: Introducing AI Chatbot Prompt Engineering
Generative AI chatbots such as ChatGPT, Bing Copilot, and Bard respond to our inquiries, though not always as we might desire. It may be that we haven’t learned the best way of asking them what we want, of prompting them? Learn some basic principles for effectively prompting the chatbots in order to get the best results.
Choosing Chatbots: Comparing ChatGPT, Bing Copilot, Gemini, Claude.ai
So you want to use a generative AI chatbot. Which one should you choose? What’s the difference between ChatGPT and Gemini or Bing Copilot and Claude.ai? What’s this Perplexity thing? We’ll take a look at each and discuss the similarities and differences you may wish to consider.
The Right Tool for the Purpose: A Brief Look at Some Current Generative AI Tools
Generative AI tools and platforms are developing at a rapid pace. While ChatGPT garners much of the attention, it’s not what you use for all purposes. What about art and graphics? Audio? Writing? Coding? Let’s look at some of the many generative AI tools available for different purposes.
Exploring Research-Oriented Gen AI Tools
Research-focused generative AI tools are developing rapidly. While the general purpose gen AI bots such as ChatGPT, Bing Copilot, and others offer a variety of possible benefits, they also bring with them some considerations that can pose challenges to a research and academic environment. In this session, we will explore some of the tools being created specifically for research and learning purposes that attempt to overcome some of the concerns of the common tools.
Generative AI for Everyone
Talk of AI (artificial intelligence), particularly generative AI such as ChatGPT, is everywhere these days. This session focuses on some basics. Some basic terminology to understand what is being discussed. Some basic understanding of prompts and prompt engineering to get the best from the tools. Basic overviews of some of the most common tools such as ChatGPT, Bing Copilot, Bard, Claude.ai. A look at some developing research-focused tools. And finally a quick glance at the myriad of developing gen AI tools currently available.
|
As this guide is about AI and Generative AI, four Generative AI chatbots are being used in creating portions of the content provided. The four bots being used are ChatGPT 3.5 (CG), New Bing (NB), Bard (B), and Claude.ai (C). |
Using the prompts shown, the generative AI chatbots being used recommended the following resources that are available through the University Libraries.
We are a major American research university library serving the learning, teaching, and research needs of faculty, staff, researchers, graduate students, and undergraduate students. Provide a detailed list with bibliographic citation and content review of the five most important books we should have in our collection about the topic of artificial intelligence.
[More than five are listed because there is both overlap and uniqueness among the 4 chatbot responses]
Extending the initial prompt, the following was requested:
Now provide a detailed list with content review of the five most important scholarly journals we should have in our collection about the topic of artificial intelligence.
Continuing the context of the first two prompts, the following was requested:
Now provide a detailed list with content review of the five most important scholarly databases we should have in our collection about the topic of artificial intelligence.
Using the prompts shown, the generative AI chatbots recommended the following resources that are available through the University Libraries.
We are a major American research university library serving the learning, teaching, and research needs of faculty, staff, researchers, graduate students, and undergraduate students. Provide a detailed list with bibliographic citation and content review of the five most important books we should have in our collection about the topic of generative artificial intelligence.
[Only items different from those listed on the Artificial Intelligence tab are listed here]