NURS 435

Remember

• No method is flawless.  Each method will retrieve results that cannot be used for this assignment. Check your results carefully. The rules below apply to the Case Study assignment.
• Your articles must be:
  • Peer-reviewed
  • Published in an American Nursing journal
  • Published within 8 years from the assignment due date
  • Must focus on the nursing perspective
  • Must focus on US nursing practices.  Remember, American nursing journals will also publish articles from an international perspectives/research. Look for authors with US affiliations.

Let's begin:

1. Go to CINAHL Ultimate: sc.edu/libraries > databases > click on "C" > scroll to CINAHL Ultimate

2. In CINAHL, scroll down to view Search Options. In the right column you will see:

• Adjust to publication date.  No older than 8 years from the due date.
• Check the Peer Reviewed box
• Under Geographic Subset, select USA.  It is the last option.

3.  In the left column, locate the for Journal Subset. Select "Core Nursing" or "Nursing."

4.  Scroll back up to the top of the page and enter your keywords.

5.  Hit Search.

Tips:

• If you find a related article, please check the subject headings. These may help you come up with better terms for your search.
• Check the list for Nursing journals. CINAHL includes several multi-disciplinary journals that may not satisfy your requirements.
• Be sure to brainstorm your keywords: ICU OR intensive care OR critical care
• If all fails, try changing the keywords to ALL Fields.
• Read the articles carefully. Be sure that the meet ALL of your requirements!

Overall Directions

1. Select a topical subset of nursing journals below and paste the provided search string into the first search box.
2. Enter your keywords in the second search box.
3. Set your publication date limits.
4. Check the Peer-Reviewed box.
5. Evaluation your results carefully!

Journal Subset Options

Option 1: Critical Care/Intensive Care/Emergency Nursing

Includes: AACN Advanced Critical Care, Advanced Emergency Nursing Journal, American Journal of Critical Care, Critical Care Nurse, Critical Care Nursing Clinics of North America, Critical Care Nursing Quarterly, Dimensions of Critical Care Nursing, Intensive & Critical Care Nursing, and Journal of Trauma Nursing

Search to copy/paste into first search box:

Option 2: Maternal & Pediatric Nursing

Includes: Advances in Neonatal Care; JOGNN: Journal of Obstetric, Gynecologic & Neonatal Nursing; Journal of Pediatric Hematology/Oncology Nursing; Journal of Pediatric Oncology Nursing; Journal of Perinatal & Neonatal Nursing; Journal of School Nursing; MCN: The American Journal of Maternal Child Nursing; NASN School Nurse; Pediatric Nursing; and Women's Healthcare: A Clinical Journal for NPs.

Search to copy/paste into first search box:

Option 3: Medical-Surgical Including Oncology

Includes: American Nurse Journal; AJN: American Journal of Nursing; Cancer Nursing; Clinical Journal of Oncology Nursing; Gastroenterology Nursing; Journal of Cardiovascular Nursing; Journal of Doctoral Nursing Practice; Journal for Nurse Practitioners; Journal of the American Association of Nurse Practitioners; Journal of Gerontological Nursing; Journal of Holistic Nursing; Journal of Infusion Nursing; Journal of Oncology Navigation & Survivorship; Journal of Wound, Ostomy & Continence Nursing; MEDSURG Nursing; Nephrology Nursing; Nursing; Nursing Clinics of North America; Nurse Practitioner; Oncology Nursing Form; ORL-Head & Neck Nursing; Orthopaedic Nursing; Pain Management Nursing; Plastic Surgical Nursing; Plastic & Aesthetic Nursing (PAN); Research in Gerontological Nursing; Rehabilitation Nursing; Seminars in Oncology Nursing; and Urologic Nursing.

Search to copy/paste into first search box:

Option 4: Nursing Administration

Includes: JONA: Journal of Nursing Administration, Nursing Administration Quarterly, and Nursing Management.

Search to copy/paste into first search box:

Option 5: Mental Health Nursing

Includes: Archives of Psychiatric Nursing; Journal of Addictions Nursing (stopped in 2020); Journal of the American Psychiatric Nurses Association; Journal of Holistic Nursing; and Journal of Psychosocial Nursing and Mental Health.

Search to copy/paste into first search box:

Note, this is not a complete list.  Please let me know if you think journals should be added or deleted. 

AACN Advanced Critical Care

AANA Jouranal

ABNF (Association of Black Nursing Faculty Foundation)

AACN Advanced Critical Care

Advanced Emergency Nursing Journal

Advances in Neonatal Care

Advances in Nursing Science

American Journal of Critical Care

American Nurse Journal

AJN: American Journal of Nursing

Applied Nursing Research

Archives of Psychiatric Nursing

Biological Research for Nursing

Cancer Nursing

CIN: Computers, Informatics, Nursing

Clinical Journal of Oncology Nursing

Clinical Nurse Specialist

Clinical Nursing Research

Critical Care Nurse

Critical Care Nursing Clinics of North America

Critical Care Nurse Quarterly

Creative Nursing

Dimensions of Critical Care Nursing

Frontier Nursing Service Quarterly

Gastroenterology Nursing

Holistic Nursing Practice

Intensive & Critical Care Nursing

JOGNN: Journal of Obstetric, Gynecologic & Neonatal Nursing

Johns Hopkins Nursing

JONA: Journal of Nursing Administration

Journal for Nurse Practitioners

Journal of Addictions Nursing (ceased in 2020)

Journal of Cardiovascular Nursing

Journal of Christian Nursing

Journal of Continuing Education in Nursing

Journal of Doctoral Nursing Practice

Journal of Excellence in Nursing & Healthcare Practice

Journal of Forensic Nursing

Journal of Gerontological Nursing

Journal of Holistic Nursing

Journal of Hospice & Palliative Nursing

Journal of Informatics Nursing

Journal of Infusion Nursing

Journal of Neuroscience Nursing

Journal of Nurse Life Care Planning

Journal of Nursing Care Quality

Journal of Nursing Education

Journal of Nursing Measurement

Journal of Nursing Practice Applications & Reviews of Research

Journal of Nursing Regulation

Journal of Oncology Navigation & Survivorship

Journal of Pediatric Hematology/Oncology Nursing

Journal of Pediatric Nursing

Journal of Pediatric Oncology Nursing

Journal of Pediatric Surgery Nursing

Journal of PeriAnesthesia Nursing

Journal of Perinatal & Neonatal Nursing

Journal of Professional Nursing

Journal of Psychosocial Nursing & Mental Health

Journal of School Nursing

Journal of the American Association of Nurse Practitioners

Journal of the American Psychiatric Nurses Association

Journal of the Dermatology Nurses' Association

Journal of the National Black Nurses Association (last 2021)

Journal of the New York State Nurses Association

Journal of Transcultural Nursing

Journal of Trauma Nursing

Journal of Wound, Ostomy & Continence Nursing

MCN: The American Journal of Maternal Child Care

MEDSurg Nursing

NASN School Nurse

Nephrology Nursing Journal

Nurse Educator

Nursing

Nursing Administration Quarterly

Nursing Clinics of North America

Nursing Critical Care (only 2019-2020)

Nursing Econmic$

Nursing Education Perspectives

Nursing Ethics

Nursing Management

Nursing & Midwifery Research Journal

Nurse Practitioner

Nursing for Women's Health

Nursing Research

Nursing Science Quality

Oncology Nursing Forum

Online Journal of issues in Nursing

Online Journal of Nursing Informatics

Online Journal of Rural Nursing & Health Care

ONS Voice (ceased in 2022) - Oncology Nursing Society

ORL - Head & Neck Nursing

Orthopaedic Nursing

Pain Management Nursing

Parish Nurse Perspectives

Pediatric Nursing

Plastic & Aesthetic Nursing (PAN)

Plastic Surgical Nursing

Policy, Politics & Nursing Practice

Research & Theory for Nursing Practice

Research in Gerontological Nursing

Research in Nursing & Health

Rehabilitation Nursing

Sage Open Nursing

Seminars in Oncological Nursing

Urological Nursing

Visions: The Journal of Rogerian Nursing Science

Western Journal of Nursing Research

Women's Healthcare: A clinical Journal for NPs