Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Track Down a Source From a Citation
I already have a citation. Where can I find my article?
Search for online journals available from USC-Columbia and the School of Medicine in one list. You may be offered multiple access points to a particular journal; be sure to check the dates available.
Print Indexes to Articles
The following article databases are used to locate scholarly, critical analysis of specific films, directors, themes, etc. for both current and historical films. Scholarly analysis of films tends to be more academic and more substantial than film reviews. For information on how to locate film reviews, please see the How to Find Film Reviews section of this guide.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text
Coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 300 publications and selected coverage of 300 more.
JSTOR offers full-text on-line access to back issues of more than 100 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Issues are entered on-line after having been published for 2-5 years.
Searchable database that provides access to the full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
Provides both technical journals and consumer computer titles covering the latest information and current trends in high technology.
Academic Search Complete
Contains unmatched full text coverage of virtually every area of academics.
The AFI Catalog strives to be comprehensive in its coverage of American films. Included is film production information, credits and cast lists, song and music information, detailed plot summaries, and source citations. Covers the history of American cinema comprehensively from 1893 to 1974, with records for selected major films from 1975-2009.
Film & Media Studies Journals
Below is a selection of journals in film and media studies that are freely available online.
Need some help?
Return to Article Databases