Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Free Online Film Archives
Movie Archive (from Internet Archive)
This digital library contains over a million digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.
National Film Board of Canada
Contains an online screening room where you can watch full-length films, clips and trailers from the past 90 years, all free for home viewing.
British Film Institute (Youtube)
The BFI Channel presents hundreds of free films from the BFI National Archive, plus previews of new and forthcoming BFI releases and seasons, expert commentary, interviews and more.
A National Preserve of Documentary Films about American Roots Cultures streamed with essays about the traditions and filmmaking.
Offers a broad collection of great independent movies you can stream for free.
American Memory - The Library of Congress
Motion picture collections from The Library of Congress.
Complete Index to World Film since 1895
If you can't find information on a film in the AFI Catalog or on IMDB, try searching for it here!
Game Studies is a non-profit, open-access, crossdisciplinary journal dedicated to games research.
Internet Movie Database
One of the most robust film sites on the Web, claiming information on 250,000 films, including entries on over 900,000 individuals, and does contain links to film reviews and (unofficial) box office statistics.
Search platform for the Media History Project. See link below.
"Media Burn Archive collects, restores and distributes documentary video and television created by artists, activists and community groups. Media Burn is a project of the Fund for Innovative TV, which has been producing challenging documentary video and television since 1990."
Media History Project
The Media History Digital Library digitizes collections of classic media periodicals that belong in the public domain for full public access. The project is supported by owners of materials who loan them for scanning, and donors who contribute funds to cover the cost of scanning.
Moving Image Source
Moving Image Source is a website devoted to the history of film, television, and digital media and features original articles by leading critics, authors, and scholars.
A web-based tool that enables the study of 20th century American media through comparisons across time and space.
Public Moving Image Archives and Research Centers
Maintained by the Library of Congress. Provides links to film archives, research centers, and museums.
Society for Cinema & Media Studies
Professional organization of college and university educators, filmmakers, historians, critics, scholars, and others devoted to the study of the moving image.