Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Some important periodicals (such as Scottish Literary Review) require subscriptions for online access, but the ones below are free:
Studies in Scottish Literature
The oldest international refereed journal in the field, founded in 1963 by the Burns scholar G. Ross Roy, and still edited at the University of South Carolina; note especially volume 30 and volume 37, both wholly devoted to essays about Burns
Founded in 1892, this annual volume is the official publication of the Robert Burns World Federation. Many, though not all, volumes have now been digitized with private sponsorship.
Robert Burns Lives!
Over 250 short recent articles about Burns and the enjoyment of Burns by some of the leading Burns scholars, aimed at the general reader, and introduced by Frank Shaw
The Bottle Imp
The on-line journal of the Association for Scottish Literary Studies; note the short descriptions and reviews of recent publications in the field
International Review of Scottish Studies
An interdisciplinary journal based at the University of Guelph, Ontario.
International Journal of Scottish Literature
Note especially issue 6, on Burns and the World, and Burns-related articles in issue 4, on Scottish-Caribbean Connections
Scottish Studies Newsletter
Based at the Scottish Studies Center, Germersheim, and useful for notices and reviews of new publications, and conference announcements.
Some Robert Burns Web-sites
This national site includes news of events etc., as well aas bringing together information and images of Burns material in museums and libraries across Scotland (formerly known as the Distributed National Burns Collection).
This section covers general-interest sites, and some Burns research projects, but see also the links for organizations and Burns museums:
Robert Burns, from the National Library of Scotland
An informative introduction to Burns's life and the early Burns publications and manuscripts in the NLS
Robert Burns on Electric Scotland
This section of a much larger Canadian Scottish website provides a variety of Burns information and links, as well as full text of many of the major Burns printed sources. The web-magazine Robert Burns Lives! is part of Electric Scotland.
This site promises "Everything you wanted to know about Robert Burns, Scotland's national bard (and lots more besides)," together with karaoke Auld Lang Syne (and links to the Burns Heritage Park site).
Centre for Robert Burns Studies, University of Glasgow
Glasgow is the research base for the new Collected Edition of the Writings of Robert Burns, as well as continuing a long-running series of annual Burns conferences each January.
Some Burns Museums & Research Collections
Other major library-based research collections include the Mitchell Library in Glasgow, the National Library of Scotland in Edinburgh, and the G. Ross Roy Collection at the University of South Carolina.
Some University Programs in Scottish Studies
The cottage in Alloway, near Ayr, built by Robert Burns's father William Burnes, where Burns was born, January 25, 1759.
Some Burns Organizations and Scholarly Societies
Most Burns organizations are not solely for academic study, though membership will include many individuals with great in-depth knowledge of Burns's works and life.
Robert Burns World Federation
The international umbrella organization to which many local Burns clubs are affiliated: sponsors the Burns Chronicle.
Eighteenth-Century Scottish Studies Society
An international scholarly society, sponsoring annual academic conferences, and publishing the magazine Eighteenth-Century Scotland.
Association for Scottish Literary Studies
In addition to maintaining a very useful website (with links to online articles on Scottish authors), the Association runs regular conferences and publishes Scottish Literary Review, the Bottle Imp, and other scholarly publications.
Robert Burns Association of North America
RBANA draws members from the U.S. and Canada for an annual conference that mixes Scottish social events with sessions on Burns.
The Carnie Group, Calgary Burns Club
A study group associated with the Calgary Burns Club, named for the Burns scholar Robert Hay Carnie: the site includes papers about Burns from group meetings.