Ask a Librarian
Science Librarian
Understanding Primary and Secondary Sources
Primary sources = Original Research
- Written by the scientists(s) or researcher(s) who conducted the experiment or study
- Should include sections detailing how the research was performed such as methodology, results, and discussion/conclusions
Secondary sources = Summarize, Review or Compare
- Authors did not conduct the research studies which are mentioned or cited in the article themselves
- Purpose is to summarize, review, or compare the published research on a specific topic
Top Databases
-
Agricultural & Environmental Sciences This link opens in a new windowCombines AGRICOLA, Environmental Science and Pollution Management, and Environmental Impact Statements databases.
-
ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIdentifies literature worldwide dealing with the science, technology, and management of marine, freshwater, and brackish water environments and organisms.
-
GeoRef This link opens in a new windowCovers the international technical literature on geology and geophysics.
-
GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowThis freely accessible research database focuses on the relationship between human beings and the environment.
-
Scopus This link opens in a new windowComprehensive and multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of scholarly literature, plus data and analytical tools.
-
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowIndexes thousands of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Also has cited reference searching and ways to refine and analyze your search results.
Other Useful Databases
-
Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new windowCitations, abstracts, and often full text for dissertations and theses, primarily from North American institutions.
-
Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowConnect directly to USC subscription content:
*Click on the three horizontal bars in the corner, Select Settings and click on Library links
*Search University Libraries South Carolina
*Select UofSC University Libraries - ViewIt@UofSC
*Click Save
Never purchase an article! Check the library's resources or make a free ILL request.