Ask a Librarian Online
Research & Instruction Librarian
Environmental & Geospatial Statistics and Data Set Resources
Below are some examples of resources that you can use to find environmental and geospatial resources. This is not a comprehensive list.
Statistics
- Our World in DataThis site compiles data from around the world on a wide variety of topics. Research topics include education, health, economic and poverty developments, living conditions, energy, food and agriculture, and more.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowWide range of statistics including consumer behavior, markets, industries, countries and trend forecasts.
Data Sets (.csv)
- Climate TRACEView open source datasets on environmental and energy topics: agriculture, buildings, fluorinated gases, fossil fuel operations, forestry and land use, manufacturing, mineral use, power, transportation, and waste.
- Data.govThe purpose of Data.gov is to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government.
- PolicyMap This link opens in a new windowData and mapping application that includes demographics, housing, crime, health, jobs, and more at all common geographies (e.g., block group, census tract, zip code, etc.)
- Residential Energy Consumption Survey Results - EIACollected every 3-4 years, the U.S. Energy Information Administration releases a survey to understand how Americans use energy and what kind of energy is most often used.
- U.S. Wildfires - NOAANOAA hosts a collection of wildfire data, ranging from 2000-current, separated by year.
- World Bank Open Data This link opens in a new windowWorld Bank Group now provides free, open, and easy access to its comprehensive set of data on living standards around the globe—some 2,000 indicators, including hundreds that go back 50 years— through its new data portal.
Geospatial Data
- Geospatial Data GatewayBest bet: your one-stop shop for geospatial data and maps.
- U.S. Census - List of Data and ToolsDiscover various mapping tools illustrating U.S. Census data.
Fire Modeling
- LandFireHosts 20+ years of critical data for wildland fire & natural resource management.
- Fire Program Analysis Fire Occurrence Database (FPAFOD)Collected on behalf of the U.S. government, this spatial data is free for researchers to use without additional permission or fees.
- Monitoring Trends in Burn Severity (MTBS)From 1984-current, MTBS includes fires with a minimum of 500+ acres (Eastern U.S.) or 1000+ acres (Western U.S.).
Hydrological Data
- USGS National Water DashboardView stream flow, water quality, weather conditions, and more with the Water Dashboard.
- National Hydrography Dataset (NHD)Published by USGS, the National Hydrography Dataset is available as downloadable product directories or with a national map download viewer.
Landuse and Landcover Databases
- Multi-Resolution Land Characteristics (MRLC) ConsortiumThis consortium brings together a variety of federal groups dedicated to environmental information, land management, and modeling applications. Data is available for downloadable view, WMS services, and external applications.
- Gap Analysis ProjectThe USGS Gap Analysis Project covers a variety of topics, including Land Cover (state/territory or landscape conservation cooperative) and Protected Areas (state/territory).
Modelled Data
Historical Data
- Parameter-elevation Relationships on Independent Slopes Model (PRISM)Run by Oregon State University, PRISM reveals short- and long-term climate patterns within their datasets. Climate observations are available from 1895-present.
Future Climate Projections
Most of modelled data are stored in NetCDF format. Here is an introduction of NetCDF format. Various tools of manipulating NetCDF files found here.
-- Statistical Downscaling Data
- MACA Climatology LabMACA datasets downscale GCMs to allow for a higher spatial resolution to be used. To visualize MACA datasets, use the tab "Visualize" for the tools needed.
- NARCCAP - Climate Change Assessment ProgramRegional climate models pertaining to North America can be found through this database. Follow the 'Download Instructions' for guidance on how to obtain the files.
-- Dynamical Downscaling Data
- North American CORDEX ProgramRegional climate models pertaining to North America can be found through this database. Simulations, data, and results are available for researchers and students alike.
Observed Data
- NOAA - Full List of DataBrowse by category, parameter, or instrument/method.
- NOAA - Weather & Climate Quick LinksQuick access to many of NCEI's climate and weather datasets.
- Applied Climate Information System - Query DataTo learn how to use this system, click here for more information.
Soil Data
- Natural Resources Conservation Service - Soil DatabasesFind published results and data pertaining to soil quality composition via the Soil Database. Sort by Source Type, Concern, Programs/Initiatives, and State/Territories.
- Natural Resources Conservation Service - Web Soil Survey (WSS)Soil maps and data are available for 95% of the counties in the United States. Soil surveys are best used for general farm, local, or wider area planning - onsite investigation will be needed for more detailed plans.
Transportation Data
- TIGER/Line Shapefiles - United States CensusView spatial extracts of areas with geographic features like railroads, roads, boundaries, and coast lines. You can also filter by Geographic Areas (Indigenous land, Congressional districts, Counties, and more).