Ask a Librarian Online
General Statistics and Data Set Resources
Below are some examples of resources that you can use to find general resources. This is not a comprehensive list.
For subject specific databases, use the navigation tabs to find the field of study needed.
Statistics - General
- Data Citation Index This link opens in a new windowData Citation Index captures metadata from data repositories in the Social Sciences, Life Sciences, Physical Sciences, and Arts & Humanities.
Note: Web of Science is the host!
- Google Public Data ExplorerAllows you to search across publicly available data sets via the Google search interface.
- Historical Statistics of the United States: Millennial Edition OnlineA reference source for historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history from 1790 to the turn of the 21st century.
- ICPSR: Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research This link opens in a new windowUniversity affiliates can create an account and access the ICPSR archive of research data, including specialized collections in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, and terror. More information
- South Carolina Statistics and Statistical Reports - SCIwayLargest and most comprehensive directory of information about South Carolina on the Internet.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowWide range of statistics including consumer behavior, markets, industries, countries and trend forecasts.
- USA Trade Online This link opens in a new windowProvides U.S. export and import statistics for more than 18,000 commodities. You will need to sign up for a free account to get access to this government resource.
Data Sets - General
- Data.govThe purpose of Data.gov is to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government.
- Gapminder DataIdentifies the most ignored global facts by comparing what people think against the official statistics. Offers visualization tools and other resources.
- Pew Research Center DatasetsRaw data sets from the Pew Research Center
- PolicyMap This link opens in a new windowData and mapping application that includes demographics, housing, crime, health, jobs, and more at all common geographies (e.g., block group, census tract, zip code, etc.)
- Re3Data: Registry of Research Data RepositoriesIdentifying and lists 1,500 research data repositories, searchable by name, content, and country.
- UNdataOffers free access to 60 million statistical records from 24 UN agencies. Searchable by keyword or browse by topic or country.
- U.S. Census Bureau This link opens in a new windowIncludes the Census of Population and Housing, Economic Census, Census of Governments and other Census Bureau surveys, data and publications.
- World Bank Open Data This link opens in a new windowWorld Bank Group now provides free, open, and easy access to its comprehensive set of data on living standards around the globe—some 2,000 indicators, including hundreds that go back 50 years— through its new data portal.