Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GEOL 110: Cultural Geology

Newspaper Databases

To view all the newspapers Thomas Cooper Library has access to, start on the library homepage: sc.edu/libraries. Underneath Search Options, click on Databases. This will bring you to the A-Z Databases page.

Click on the drop-down menu that says All Content Types. Select Newspapers.


 

BBC

BBC is a free news source. To access articles from BBC:

1. Go to the BBC News website: bbc.com/news


 

Bloomberg

If you find an article on the Bloomberg website but hit a paywall, you can access the article for free through the database, Business Source Complete. Alternatively, you can use this database to browse for articles published in Bloomberg.

 

To search for a specific article from Bloomberg in Business Source Complete:

1. Go to Business Source Complete.

2. In the search bar, type in JN "Bloomberg.com" AND the article's title.

Example: JN "Bloomberg.com" AND Why the Color of a Colorless Gas Matters for Green Energy

arrow pointing to keyword search in Business Source Complete

 

 

 

 

 

 

3. Click Search.

4. Click on the HTML Full Text link to view the article. 

Arrow pointing to HTML Full Text link

 

 

 

 

 

*Note: There is usually a 4-5 day delay for articles to be available from Bloomberg in Business Source Complete, even if the title appears in the database. If an article is fully available, there will be an HTML Full Text link beneath the article's title.

 

To browse Bloomberg articles in Business Source Complete:

1. In the search bar, type in JN "Bloomberg.com"

2. Click Search.

3. To view recent articles, click the drop-down menu, Relevance (located beside Page Options and Share), and then select Date Newest.

Arrow pointing to Relevance drop-down menu

 

 

 

 

 

4. Click on the HTML Full Text link to view the article.

 

To save the URL:

1. On the right-hand side, under Tools, click on Permalink.

2. Copy the permalink.

Arrow pointing to permalink

 

 

 

*Note: Always use the permalink to copy the URL. If you copy the URL in the top address bar, the link will expire after 24 hours.


 

Fox News

Fox News is a free news source. To access articles from Fox News: 

1. Go to the Fox News website: foxnews.com


 

The Guardian

The Guardian is a free news source. To access articles from The Guardian: 

1. Go to The Guardian website: theguardian.com


 

Houston Chronicle

If you find an article on the Houston Chronicle website but hit a paywall, you can access the article for free through the database, Access World News. Alternatively, you can use this database to browse for articles published in Houston Chronicle. To access articles from Houston Chronicle:

1. Go to Access World News.

2. Click on A-Z Source List, located to the right of the NewsBank logo.

Arrow pointing to A-Z Source List

 

 

 

3. Search for Houston Chronicle.

4. Click on Houston Chronicle (TX), 1985-Current.

To search for a specific article, such as one you found on the Houston Chronicle website, paste or type in the article's title in the search bar. Then, click Search.

To browse articles in Access World News, click on an issue. Recent issues are listed at the top, under View Recent Issues.

To save the URL:

1. Click on the article.

2. Click on Copy Link, located in the top right-hand corner.

arrow pointing to copy link

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

Los Angeles Times

If you find an article on the Los Angeles Times website but hit a paywall, you can access the article for free through the database, Los Angeles Times from ProQuest Newspapers (2008- ). Alternatively, you can use this database to browse for articles published in Los Angeles Times.

*Note: The most recent three months are not available in this database.

To access articles from Los Angeles Times:

1. Go to Los Angeles Times from ProQuest Newspapers (2008- ).

To search for a specific article, such as one you found on the Los Angeles Times website, paste or type in the article's title in the search bar. Then, click Search.

To browse articles, click on Browse Issues.

arrow pointing to browse issues

 

 

 

 

To save the URL:

1. Click on the article.

2. Click All Options, located in the top right-hand corner. Then, copy the permalink.

arrow pointing to all options

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

New York Times

Thomas Cooper Library offers unlimited access to NYTimes.com. To access The New York Times, you will first need to claim your pass and register it with an online account.

How to Claim a Pass

1. Visit this registration link to get started.

2. Create an account with NYTimes.com using your university email address.*

3. Select your status as a student.

4. Enter your graduation date.

5. Go to NYTimes.com and login with your new account for access.

*If you already have a free account with NYTimes.com, login with that account regardless of what email address you used.


 

NPR

NPR is a free news source. To access articles from NPR:

1. Go to the NPR website: npr.org

 


 

The Post and Courier

If you find an article on The Post and Courier website but hit a paywall, you can access the article for free through the database, South Carolina Newspapers [NewsBank collection]. Alternatively, you can use this database to browse for articles published in The Post and Courier. To access articles from The Post and Courier:

1. Go to the database, South Carolina Newspapers [NewsBank collection].

2. Click on A-Z Source List.

Arrow pointing to A-Z Source List

 

 

 

3. Search for Post and Courier.

4. Click on Post and Courier, The (Charleston, SC), 1994-Current.

Arrow pointing to Post and Courier link

 

 

 

 

To search for a specific article, such as one you found on The Post and Courier website, paste or type in the article's title in the search bar. Then, click Search.

To browse articles in South Carolina Newspapers [NewsBank collection], click on an issue. Recent issues are listed at the top, under View Recent Issues.

To save the URL:

1. Click on the article.

2. Click on Copy Link, located in the top right-hand corner.

Arrow pointing to copy link

 

 

 

 


 

The State Newspaper

If you find an article on The State Newspaper website but hit a paywall, you can access the article for free through the database, State Newspaper, 1891-present. Alternatively, you can use this database to browse for articles published in The State. To access articles from The State Newspaper:

1. Go to the database, State Newspaper, 1891-present. 

2. Click on either the second link, State, The (Columbia, SC) 1987-Current or the last link, State, The: Web Edition Articles (Columbia, SC) 2007-Current.

Arrow pointing to The State link

 

 

 

 

 

To search for a specific article, such as one you found on The State website, paste or type in the article's title in the search bar. Then, click Search.

To browse articles in The State Newspaper, click on an issue. Recent issues are listed at the top, under View Recent Issues.

To save the URL:

1. Click on the article.

2. Click on Copy Link, located in the top right-hand corner.

Arrow pointing to copy link

 

 

 

 


 

USA Today

If you find an article on the USA Today website but hit a paywall, you can access the article for free through the database, Access World News. Alternatively, you can use this database to browse for articles published in USA Today. To access articles from USA Today:

1. Go to Access World News.

2. Click on A-Z Source List, located to the right of the NewsBank logo.

Arrow pointing to A-Z Source List

 

 

 

3. Search for USA Today.

4. Click on USA TODAY (Arlington, VA).

To search for a specific article, such as one you found on the USA Today website, paste or type in the article's title in the search bar. Then, click Search.

To browse articles in Access World News, click on an issue. Recent issues are listed at the top, under View Recent Issues.

To save the URL:

1. Click on the article.

2. Click on Copy Link, located in the top right-hand corner.

Arrow pointing to copy link

 

 

 

 


 

Wall Street Journal

 

If you find an article on The Wall Street Journal website but hit a paywall, you can access the article for free through the database, Factiva. To access a specific article from Wall Street Journal:

1. Go to Factiva.

2. In the search box, type in the article's title in quotation marks.

Example: "Shell Takes $22 Billion Write-Down, Expecting Lower Oil and Gas Prices"

3. Under the search bar, click on Source.

4. Type in Wall Street Journal, and then select The Wall Street Journal - All Sources.

Arrow pointing to Wall Street Journal All Sources

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5. Click Search.

6. Click on the article's title. The article will then appear in the right-hand window.

Arrow pointing to article

 

 

 

 

 

 

*Note: You are not able to share URLs in Factiva. You are only able to read the articles. So, if you find an article on The Wall Street Journal website but hit a paywall, you should submit the website's URL to your professor and then use Factiva to actually read the article.


 

Washington Post

If you find an article on The Washington Post website but hit a paywall, you can access the article for free through the database, Factiva. To access a specific article from The Washington Post:

1. Go to Factiva.

2. In the search box, type in the article's title in quotation marks. 

Example: "EPA rejects tougher air-quality standards, says 2015 limits are sufficient"

3. Under the search bar, click on Source.

4. Type in Washington Post, and then select Washington Post - All Sources.

arrow pointing to washington post

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5. Click Search.

6. Click on the article's title. The article will then appear in the right-hand window.

*Note: You are not able to share URLs in Factiva. You are only able to read the articles. So, if you find an article on The Washington Post website but hit a paywall, you should submit the website's URL to your professor and then you can use Factiva to actually read the article.