Subject Librarian
Valerie Vera
she/her/hers
Contact:
Research and Instruction
Thomas Cooper Library
University of South Carolina
Thomas Cooper Library
University of South Carolina
803-777-1278
Website
Peer-Reviewed Sources
Peer-reviewed articles are written by experts in the field and are typically found in scholarly journals. The goal of peer review is to assess the quality of articles before publication in a scholarly journal. Before an article is considered appropriate to be published in a peer-reviewed journal, it must undergo an intensive review process. During this peer-review process, reviewers will:
- Evaluate the article for quality
- Check the article for accuracy
- Assess the validity of the research methods and procedures
Databases for Peer-Reviewed Sources
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowCovers all subject areas. Has a mix of magazines and journals including many that are peer-reviewed. Also includes a few major newspapers.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch journals, books and conference proceedings in communication studies, including film and television, journalism and mass media, linguistics, speech and hearing etc.
- Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowCoverage of both librarianship and information science and related fields
- Library and Information Science Abstracts (LISA) This link opens in a new windowAbstracting and indexing tool designed for library professionals and other information specialists.
- Library Literature & Information Science Full Text This link opens in a new windowFull text and indexing of articles and book reviews in key library and information science periodicals as well as book chapters, library school theses, and proceedings.
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowIndexes thousands of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Also has cited reference searching and ways to refine and analyze your search results.
News Sources
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowNews from 1978 to current. Search globally or restrict your search to a world region, country, state, or language.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowAccess to global news and business information including the Wall Street Journal, as well as local newspapers, same-day newswires, company reports, and media programs. Not all content is available.
- New York Times - Online Pass This link opens in a new windowGet unlimited access to NYTimes.com and some NYT mobile apps. You will need to claim your pass and register it with an online account first. After registration, simply login to NYTimes.com from anywhere and enjoy free access.
Reference Sources
- Oxford Handbooks This link opens in a new windowFind detailed review essays on specialized topics across a variety of social sciences and humanities disciplines. This resource is provided with partial support from the Lou and Beth Holtz Endowment. Only the handbooks which USC has purchased are available for online access.
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new windowFully indexed, cross-searchable database of dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences published by Oxford University Press.
Tutorials
Introduction to Library Resources
- Introduction to Library Resources (5:29)
Overview of the University Libraries website, resources, and services
Accessing and Downloading E-Books
- Accessing and Downloading E-Books (4:10)
How to access and download e-books from Thomas Cooper Library
Locating Online Journals
- How to Access Specific Journals (2:16)
How to access specific journals through the University Libraries website
Searching Databases
- Using the Library Databases (8:20)
Overview of searching the library database, Library Literature and Information Science Full Text.