Subject Librarian
Choosing a Topic
-
How to Choose a TopicThis short video tells you the questions to ask and describes the process of choosing a workable research question.
Finding Background Information
Use these sources to gain familiarity with your topic, narrow your research question, provide context, and identify experts.
-
Find It @ USC LibrariesSearch for articles, books, and more or limit to USC Libraries collection.
-
Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowUse to find quick facts, images or background information on various topics in dictionaries and encyclopedias.
-
Sage Reference This link opens in a new windowIncludes over 120 subject encyclopedias and handbooks primarily in business and the social sciences.
-
Dictionary of Media and Communication StudiesProvides students and the general public alike with a gateway into the study of intercultural communication, public relations and marketing communications.
-
Encyclopedia of Communication TheoryProvides students and researchers with a comprehensive overview of contemporary communication theory.
-
Encyclopedia of Media and CommunicationProvides an accessible introduction to these disciplines' most important concepts, figures, and schools of thought.
-
The Routledge Handbook of Mass Media EthicsProvides an exploration of thinking on media ethics, bringing together the intellectual history of global mass media ethics over the past 40 years, summarising existing research and setting future agenda grounded in philosophy and social science.
-
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Communication Research MethodsEntries cover every step of the research process, from the creative development of research topics and questions to literature reviews, selection of best methods (whether quantitative, qualitative, or mixed) for analyzing research results and publishing research findings, whether in traditional media or via new media outlets.
Research Methods 101
-
Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new windowProvides a variety of material types, including books, reference works, case studies, videos, and journal articles, related to research methodology.