Library Guides: Children's Literature: Researching and Using

Researching Children's Literature
Want to find commentary and criticism about the history of children's literature, issues involving children's literature as well as an author or illustrator? Searching Find It@USC Libraries in the Articles, books and more scope is a good place to begin. Other top choices:

Search all three at the same time if you want. Get into one, click the Choose Databases link and select additional databases.

Library Literature & Information Science Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full text and indexing of articles and book reviews in key library and information science periodicals as well as book chapters, library school theses, and proceedings.
Library Literature & Information Science Retrospective, 1905-1983 This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles and book reviews in over 400 library and information science journals. Also indexes book chapters, library school theses, and conference proceedings.
MLA (Modern Language Association) International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Search for international scholarly materials, including journal articles, books/chapters, and dissertations, on literature, modern language, linguistics, and folklore.

There could be more options. Researching an illustrator? Check the art databases. Could a historian have written about childrens books? What are the history databases? Learn more about how teachers use children's literature by searching the education databases. Explore your options from the library's list of databases.

Using Children's Literature
Find inspiration for developing your own activities from what others have done.