Databases with Culture and Customs Information
The databases below provide detailed information on customs and cultures of other countries.
- CultureGrams This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Discover the world with concise cultural and statistical snapshots of every country recognized by the United Nations. - Passport This link opens in a new windowComplete New User Registration with university email to gain access.
Statistics and analysis of consumer products industries and service industries like travel and sports. Also covers consumer lifestyles as well as analysis of the economy, infrastructure, and business environment in over 200 countries. - Fitch Connect This link opens in a new windowProvides country risk; industry analysis and forecasts; and company information. Get detailed information on a country along with reports and data on industries and the economy. Provides profiles of leading companies within the industry.
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new windowProvides global business and financial information. The database includes current and archival U.S. Company data, international data, full text annual reports, SEC filings and historical stock prices. Also includes executive biographies, competitive landscape data, global industry profiles, and equity research reports.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowCovers all subject areas. Has a mix of magazines and journals including many that are peer-reviewed. Also includes a few major newspapers.
- Mintel Reports Database This link opens in a new windowMarket research reports covering US and International marketplaces including food and drink, retail and apparel, technology, travel, and more. Also includes demographics and lifestyles.
- Countries and Their CulturesInformation includes demography, linguistics, food, social stratification, and much more.
- BBC Country ProfilesSearch by country or territory
*Instant guide to history and political leaders
*Specialized Media tab covers the use and sources of media available - Global Guides to Culture, Customs and Etiquette-Covers both social and business etiquette practices
- globalEDGEArguably the best free online resource for global business information developed and hosted by Michigan State University.
TIP: Select a country and the "Resources" in the left column for links to that country's government resources--great for statistics, labor regulations, costs, etc. - The World Factbook (CIA)Great for cultural statistics but does not provide much analysis
- Human Freedom RatingFind the rating of the human freedom measure by country
Reference Resources for Cultural Information
These sources contain reference books that can be accessed online (examples in boxes below).
- SAGE Reference OnlineSeveral useful reference sources on regional perspectives, family roles in different cultures, business considerations by culture, and more
*See examples below - Gale Virtual Reference LibraryEncyclopedias on modern-day cultures in Asia, Middle East, Africa, as well as information on food and arts by culture (see examples below)
*Useful categories to select in Gale: History, General, Business
Online Resources
Consulting firms focusing in international activities will often publish reports that will contain useful information for understanding consumers and cultures in other countries.
Other useful organizations to consider include associations, think tanks, and foreign government websites.
Below are some example resources, but you should try others from similar resources (be sure to evalute the website for accuracy, currency, authority, and objectivity).
- Chinese Consumer Buying Preferences from DeloitteDeloitte publishes many useful reports on a variety of business topics in foreign countries.
- Meet the 2020 Chinese Consumer from McKinseyMcKinsey is a well-known global consulting firm that often makes its publications available online for free.
- Winning in Emerging Market Cities by Boston Consulting GroupBCG's report includes information like "Capturing the Consumer Opportunity" in the world's emerging market cities.
- Playing to win in Emerging MaketsBCG's report includes information like "Capturing the Consumer Opportunity" in the world's emerging market cities.
