Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowCovers all subject areas. Has a mix of magazines and journals including many that are peer-reviewed. Also includes a few major newspapers.
- ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new windowFull text access to the research journals, magazines, and conference proceedings of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM).
- Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowIndexing and full text of resources related to criminal justice and criminology.
- Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new windowCitations, abstracts, and often full text for dissertations and theses, primarily from North American institutions.
- Encyclopedia of Crime and PunishmentCovers topics relevant to crime and punishment with a unique focus on the multi/interdisciplinary and international aspects of these topics and historical perspectives on crime and punishment around the world.
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowMajor database for electrical engineering and computer science literature, featuring high-quality content from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET).
- LegalTrac (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Search comprehensive legal content including law reviews and other academic journals, news, magazines, and images. - Legislative Insight This link opens in a new windowFull text primary source publications of the variety of publications produced as a bill moves through the legislative process on its way to becoming a law.
- National Criminal Justice Reference Service This link opens in a new windowThe National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Database contains summaries of more than 180,000 criminal justice publications.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowAccess news, business, and legal sources. These include regional, national, and international newspapers, news wires, broadcast transcripts, non-English language news sources, magazines, trade journals, business publications, SEC filings, law reviews, statutory, administrative and case law.
- PAIS Index [Public Affairs Information Service] This link opens in a new windowIndex to political, economic, and social issues in international journals, books, government publications, and reports.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowSearch journals in the sciences as well as some business, social sciences, and humanities titles. Only those journals to which USC Columbia subscribes are available full text.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
- SpringerLink This link opens in a new windowSearch journals, books, reference works, and other documents provided by Springer. Only the titles to which USC Columbia subscribes are available full text.
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowIndexes thousands of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Also has cited reference searching and ways to refine and analyze your search results.
ICPSR
ICPSR Guide and Login Information
What is ICPSR and why should you use it?
- Repository of political and social sciences data
- ICPSR curators clean submitted datasets, describe them with metadata, preserve them, and make them available for others
- Provides education and training - See the Summer Program tab on this guide
- ICPSR assists with Data Management Plans for researchers who would like to deposit data with them.
Newspaper Sources
You can locate newspaper articles by going directly to their website, using a news search site (such as news.google.com), or searching our databases for newspapers (In the A-Z databases list, limit the 'Content Type' drop-down to "Newspapers").
If you hit a paywall (it's asking you to pay) or you are denied access to the article, please follow the steps listed below. If you have any questions please don't hesitate to reach out to us using the "Ask a Librarian" Chat.
